Work-Friendly Cafes v.s. Social-Friendly CafessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #coffee7 years ago

Recently, I read an article about a coffee shop in downtown Toronto that does not offer WiFi on purpose. The reason they choose not to offer WiFI is to create more of a community atmosphere where people talk to each other instead of being on their device.

IMG_20160711_120531 copy.jpg
P.S. - I made this pic awhile ago. In this day and age, it is true that we cannot live without WiFi !!

They also believe that people have socially taken for granted that the coffee shop is a workplace and they prefer to be a social hub.

This cafe has faced with critics who said that their decision was only driven by money - that they want to drive more business and turn more tables, hence the policy of no WiFi.

IMG_20160724_092651 copy.jpg
P.S. - I made this pic last summer as I was inspired by an outdoor patio at a local cafe!

Honestly, I have mixed feelings. On one hand, I understand the importance of create an environment that encourages social interaction. At the same time, I also think it is important to provide a comfortable environment where people could get some work done while enjoying a good cup of java.

It’s a dilemma indeed.

Take myself as an example - I, for one, had worked at cafes and enjoyed the internet access, comfortable seating and great coffee. I had also spent hours reading a book or meeting up with friends at coffee shops and chatted for hours.

So, how to solve this problem?!

My proposed solution would be to offer a working section and a social section where everyone could enjoy the space for whatever purpose.

IMG_20160721_083254 copy.jpg
P.S. - This pic was created while I was waiting for my coffee to brew at home

Let's make everyone happy and create a win-win situation! There are enough divisions in this world and all I want is everyone to be happy!!

Sort:  

I agree with their decision. If it’s a revenue raising initiative then what’s wrong with that? They are a business after all. If they do it to promote more social interaction then happy days. Either way, a business reserves the right to choose how they conduct their operation and if patrons don’t like it they can head over to McDonalds for some bad coffee and sloppy food to enjoy with their WiFi. My point is that there are many places a person can go for free WiFi.

The beauty of living in a free world (most of us) is that we’re all free to choose where we spend our time.

I applaud the business owner for taking control of his own business and creating a space in which he is comfortable to work. I do not think his/her motives should be questioned. It’s a free world after all right?

Good post though. Raises some interesting points.

Thank you @galenkp . Also appreciate your thoughts.

It's a little sad, but I think in this day and age we actually need cafes like this... Luckily my friends are quite good and don't tend to use their phones during meetups and nor do I, but in the past I have had people casually check their entire Facebook feed whilst I'm sitting across from them. I did not appreciate it (and no longer meet up with them, not JUST because of that).

If people want to work, they can go to Starbucks or Costa or any of the millions of places that provide wifi. Not being able to work in this one café that is trying to encourage a different kind of experience shouldn't be an issue.

Thank you for your comments - much appreciated.

very creative with the beans :) and i'm pretty sure the social section will be empty ;)

Thanks @jznsamuel - love creating art with these little beans

Great coffee art! Looks like premium stock photos :)

Thanks @rocking-dave - it's a lot of fun making coffee bean art

I think it's kinda silly; when I would go to the cafe, there were people working, and people talking. It's rather nanny-ish to decide what is good for others.
Two, it won't stop socializing people from checking their smart phones, which don't need wifi. Addicted people will still be addicted to checking every ping.
Three, a lot of people who opt to work at a cafe where they need wifi do so because they have nowhere else to go. I was a regular at Starbucks when I had no wifi at home. Maybe others have noisy homes, noisy neighbors or kids running around and the cafe is quiet by comparison. Honestly the cafe was noisy to me from the loud music and people talking, either on their phones or to each other, and I found it difficult to concentrate. But I needed the wifi.
Basically, I just see this as them losing business. It's pretentious of them.
PS, I like your bean art. :)

Pretentious that the business owner decides to run his business in the way he feels is best? I think it’s proactive that the business owner has made a decision and acted on it. Time will tell if he loses trade because of it. Many places do well without free WiFi. For those that want free WiFi they will go to where they can get it. For those that want food or coffee they will go to where they can get it. For those that want both, well, there’s loads of places they can go too.

Let’s stop judging people for taking decisions of their own accord just because they don’t line up with our own.

Thanks so much @phoenixwren - Yes, love making bean art as they are fun. Also thanks for sharing your thoughts. It's very much appreciated.

Thanks so much @phoenixwren - Yes, love making bean art as they are fun. Also thanks for sharing your thoughts. It's very much appreciated.

To be honest, while guests matter, I think it is entirely fine for a business to decide what and how they target their desired demographic. If that means that one doesn't fall in said dmographic... so be.

It's their business and we don't have a right to think that every business should be tailored and cater to our own needs. If it works for them, they made the right call. And those in need of Internet, they will go elsewhere.

Full disclosure: I've had a coffeeshop in the UK in 2010, with Wi-Fi. Free and unlimited Internet was the worst business decision I ever made.

Thanks for sharing your comments @fknmayhem - Much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60