Stumptown – House Blend

in #coffee7 years ago

Today I’m tying out a blend, which is unusual for me because I generally reach for the single origin beans.

Stumptown in my mind is one of the first third wave coffee roasters, they started in 1999 in SE Portland. The owner wanted to run a coffee roasting outfit that rewarded the best farmers buy providing a living wage for producing their beans through direct trade.

Using the pour over method I got out the Kalita and boiled Earth2O bottled water. After letting the water cool down (around 200F) for two minutes and proceeded to brew.

The coffee is on the bright side, it’s floral, lightly fruity though because it’s a blend it’s hard to distinguish the fruits. It’s smooth with a syrupy sweetness with a bit of coco. The brightness can be muted with a little milk, I think this coffee was made for adding milk because it seems to enhance the richness of the coffee. Next time I buy Stumptown I’ll either reach for one of their seasonal single origin coffees or I’ll reach for the house blend. I like it much better than Stumptown’s hair bender and holler mountain blends.


Sort:  

That looks great. I'm enjoying my first cup of coffee of the day, home roasted Sumatra (Lake Toba)

Home roasted is awesome! Where do you get your green beans from?

Sweet Marias is a staple of mine. I'll check out Bodhi Leaf, thanks lakshmi!

You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58