Giakanja Farmers Cooperative Society - Personally Roasted

in #coffee7 years ago

Today I’m trying a my own roast. This is a single origin coffee from Kenya, specifically from the Giakanja Farmers Cooperative Society. This is from Nyeri district/county and is about 150km due north of Nairobi.

This is a Kenyan AA coffee which is a classification of bean size rather than quality grade.

This coffee is wet processed which is the most common processing type. I personally prefer natural processed coffee, but due to the limited availability I do drink a bit of the normal stuff.

It’s a little bright with a dark grape acidity. I used a pour over method for this and the body is very rich and has a clean mouth-feel. It has a grape sweetness to it and has cherry notes.

Overall I think the coffee is a bit brighter than I like, but it certainly is a pleasant cup.

I am working on getting some coffee from a friend of mine who is a a grower in Kenya, he made it sound like the farmers get next to nothing for their coffee.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60