Community Coffee by Southwest Airlines

in #coffee8 years ago (edited)

Community Coffee by Southwest Airlines

I recall my brother-in-law reaching for community coffee as his everyday morning beverage of choice. I thought I'd judge this coffee to see why he likes it.

This coffee is a medium to medium-dark. It's roasted a little bit darker than I'd prefer, but I'm sure many people wouldn't mind it. Especially those whose senses are accustomed to Starbucks. It's fairly smooth, so it has that as an advantage over the typical average brands.

There is a chicory forward flavor. In case you wondered chicory reminds me of a cold muddy swamp in Louisiana (that's likely due to my experience with the coffee at Cafe Du Monde). Some folks probably love the chicory as a throwback to the days of Cowboys drinking coffee prepared over an open fire in the range. I'm not nostalgic in that regard.
It has a cocoa nuttiness, I'm fairly certain this bean blend is from South and/or Central America.

It has that common cane sugar syrup sweetness that many fast food joints have been using in their coffee more recently.
Nope, not gonna use this coffee-mate alternative to cream, I'm not certain but I think some people use it as lighter fluid. I had assumed that I would need cream to cut the edge off this coffee, but I despise fake cream. FYI, in order to take the edge off this coffee an alternative to the complimentary coffee-mate creamer would be Baileys, if you can spare five bucks.

Will I partake of this coffee again? I probably will because I fly southwest and that's what they serve. This coffee is the "I just work here" variety. Though I may drink some tomato juice on my next flight.

Sort:  

Community Coffee? Why torture yourself with that? If you really need the caffeine, there are other beverages that you can drink. I would suffer through caffeine-withdrawal headaches before I drink a cup of Community Coffee...or Starbucks, for that matter.

That is an excellent point, this post was a bit more of a joke. I don't normally drink folger class coffee.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60