Coffee and caffeine - evil nemesis or tasty and delicious beverage?

in #coffee7 years ago

Quitting coffee - a really short experiment.
Day 1-
It was weird not to do the routine – turn on grinder, put coffee in pot, press start and enjoy sweet aroma of this daily delicious beverage. When I got to work, I usually have a routine: plug in computer, go downstairs to the cafeteria with co-workers for water and coffee. It was weird to only get water. Then something weird happened – I drank 3 33-oz cups of water. Is that normal? I don’t know…
Day 2-
I just felt ‘meh’. Most people online were describing horrible head aches, shakes and feeling like death. I just didn’t feel anything. I drank lots of water. Drank an herbal tea – cinnamon orange. Hated the tea but it was cold at work, so.. why not. I was yawning A LOT in the evening. So after feeling ‘meh’ I was tired in the evening… ok. That’s cool I guess?
Day 3 – Again, it was just kinda a stronger ‘meh’ feeling. Why am I doing this again? A few sharp headaches but I have no idea if they were coffee related or not. They went away. I thought I’d be angry or something. Weirdly enough I was more anxious driving… But that could be because temperatures were in the teens and roads might have tons of ice. Most people online described decrease in anxiety. Weird.
Day 4 – Felt ok. Less ‘meh’ but I also got an extra hour of sleep. Like the only thing I noticed was that I felt less ‘meh’. The week before I cut down to one cup a day. Not getting super painful headaches, or body aches or any of the other horrible experiences people described, I decided that I’m just gonna drink that 1 cup of freshly brewed coffee a day. Over the past few days I got to drinking a few different types of tea – I think I’ll drink more of that. Macha tea was recommended to me – I think that might cool. After drinking 2+ cups of coffee every day for the past decade+ and suffering next to nothing – I guess I’m not addicted to caffeine! Yay body! Moderation was key the whole time! I can have my tasty coffee and not feel bad about it.
Day 5 – A cup of freshly ground and brewed black coffee! Happiness restored. It was a bit anti-climactic. But hey, now I know I can be just fine without coffee. I’d just rather… have it in small doses. I wonder if anyone else gave up coffee – did they stay off for good or just went back?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48