Coffee time!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #coffee6 years ago

nathan-dumlao-492751-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

One thing that never changes for me, despite my lifestyle, is my desire for coffee. Strong and black, I take advantage of any special offers when it's time to collect my rations for the week.

My latest purchase was at an amazing 50% off and I got a chance to try an 11 euro a kilo, Italian blend.

Coffee is my lifeblood. I start the morning with whatever is left over in my thermos flask (generally cold and, in winter, usually frozen - that's why I sleep with my thermos flask!).

Once I am suitably caffeinated, the goats are off for a forage and I've had a wander around with the dogs, then I'll fire up the Kelly kettle (an amazing piece of kit, basically a rocket stove with a water jacket), it boils water as quick as any electric kettle that I have known, and my thermos is refilled for the morning.

I overdose on caffeine. There is no denying that! Generally I will refill the thermos at least twice a day, that equates to 3.6 litres of coffee!

Now, in my defence, I never throw away the old coffee grounds, they get piled up in a pan and cooked over the campfire, 'cowboy coffee style' doing it this way means that I can use the old coffee grounds for three refills.

Plus, you need to understand that when you overdose on caffeine the usual effects are negated, in fact I can drink a double espresso then go to bed and fall asleep.

There are also the medicinal benefits to caffeine, reversing the effects of Alzheimer's, repairing liver damage and the important one, that it's just a damned good drink.

Funnily enough though, even though I am addicted to coffee, I abhor coffee flavoured things. Maybe because they use chemical flavourings? I don't know, in fact the only coffee flavoured thing I have enjoyed was a self made Tiramasu (back in the days when I lived in civilization.)

So this is why now, after my shift at the local library (for my free internet access, a chance to warm up and some triple ply, luxury toilet paper), I am heading back to the camp to boil up some water and make myself a pot of the gorgeous liquid to enjoy while making a bunch of flatbreads and doughnuts.

Yup, coffee rules!

Sort:  

Delicious coffee, hope you stick around.

Thanks, I am planning to, I have a lot of stories and info to tell as I prepare to spend the rest of my life travelling by gypsy caravan around Europe :)

Whaoo. first welcome to steemit once again and thank you for highlighting the benefit of coffee. People don't really say the good things you benefit from addictive drinks like this, only the negative ones fly faster.
Thank you for letting me know it repairs damaged liver and also cure Alzheimer. I pray you continue to enjoy it. In my side of the world, we really do drink tea or chocolate.

tea persone hehehe haha

I am also quite the coffee lover 💖 and have been known to reuse the grounds as well 👍😋 Waste not, want not. Much Respect BeautyFull. Sending warm reiki hugs and well wishes your way. Hoping to see you around more often 💯

Lots of Love 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

i was not a coffee lover till last month.
but now I'm more like addicted in coffee.

sometimes i feel proud after drinking my coffee when i find it so tasty.

my bosses are fans of my coffee.

now i can feel you.

Lovely taste you have there for coffee. And I can see how addicted you are. Like a friend of mine would say, this is a sweet addiction.
With the colour too, black to most people in the world is worth more than gold. Great coffee piece and I wish you a happy black coffee day always

Posted using Partiko Android

Delightful coffee and nice colour :) I'm not a coffee person but I always try to have at least 1 cup of coffee a day. There is a reason behind :p reason is my baba Jani(father) he loves coffee and on weekend he only prefers coffee from my hands. And just for the company of my father, I'm trying to become a coffee person. My father loves strong dark coffee without sugar with just 2 spoons of milk hehe yep I don't know how he has such kind of coffee :o. And i like coffee with loads of milk and sugar :p have a nice day nice write up about just coffee :)

Congratulations @kepi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38