Ca Phe Sua Da (aka Vietnamese Iced Coffee)

in #coffee7 years ago

23755762_10154916457335951_8114628082549543240_n.jpg
Hello all! if any of you know me personally you know that when I get sick I've been to crave Pho...a lot of my friends have been introduced to this form of Vietnamese Noodles just by being the good friends they are and taking me to grab some whenever I would get a sore throat or even when I was just feeling a little down. So that being said I thought I would share a little bit about a little Vietnamese recipe that cheers me up when I'm down. Being a coffee nut trying different forms of coffee from all over is without a doubt something that interests me...so that being said I think you'll be surprised that Ca Phe Sua Da or Vietnamese Iced Coffee is the first form of foreign coffee I've tried thus far. That being said it quickly became one of my favorites and a comfort blanket during times that were rough. That being said due to having depression and that depression often leading to not wanting to do anything that takes any effort taking the time to do or make anything even something that could potentially cheer me up would at times seem overbearing.

BUT THERE'S GOOD NEWS. The process to make this wonderful beverage is quite simple and I've decided to outline it all for you step by step below.

So for starters what is Ca Phe Sua Da?
Well basically it is Chicory mixed with coffee (you can buy it pre mixed like I do or mix it yourself) blended with Sweetened Condensed Milk and poured over ice.

So what are the steps?

1)I start out using a french press to brew the coffee.

  1. Then I fill the glass I plan to drink out of with ice. (you can use ice to your standards or even drink this beverage hot (I prefer it iced myself)
    3)I fill about a third of the glass with sweetened condensed milk.
    4 I typically let the coffee steep in the press for about four mins before pressing it.
  2. After the coffee has been steeped I place it in the fridge (or sometimes the freezer if I'm in a rush, just don't forget it!) to let it cool...if you pour the hot coffee over the ice it typically melts it right away and since you're drinking this cold the coffee not being hot is a good thing.
    6)After the coffee is cool enough to my liking I pour it over the ice, mix it all up and enjoy!

The coffee I use is Cafe Du Monde
https://www.cajungrocer.com/cafe-du-monde-coffee-chicory.html?gclid=Cj0KCQiAs9zSBRC5ARIsAFMtUXGdR69NvW___AmLYz6SHWy7uK6-juQ5MhBQhwlvQOHeiHazIZB4v1waAvQbEALw_wcB

Here is a youtube video that walks you through the preparation because I suck at teaching things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51