Coffee : No for an Answer

in #coffee4 years ago

coff.jpg

“I was wondering if you would like to meet up for a cup of coffee?”

If the message is from a friend, I suppose she’s going through a heartbreak. Tissues and listening ears are needed ‘coz I know for certain that I will listen to long - yes, long history lessons and watch drama for free. However, if a newly met guy sent the message, ahmm... It’s gonna be a totally different story.

How would you feel if you received the message? Your hormones (whatever you call it) must be rushing down your heart, your eyes, your nose, what else? Your cheeks must be pinkish or as red as tomato. Speaking of COFFEE, when I heard the sound, the beep, the tone, the buzz… of my Whatsapp, I smelled an aroma of a brewed coffee out of nowhere . What more, when tapped on the message sent. “I was wondering if you would like to meet up for a cup of coffee?” Seriously? It must be sent to the wrong person. It’s COFFEE - COFFEE?

Before responding to the unexpected message, I thought for a minute - yes just for a minute, “But I don’t drink coffee.” It's funny that it was my initial thought even though I know that it is an invitation for two strangers of sort to get to know each other. I couldn't help but to laugh at myself. Well, it happens especially when you have a strange story about drinking coffee.

barako_coffee_beans.png

Let me talk a bit about me drinking coffee. When I was in university, I used to be a part of an organization that preserves the culture of the indigenous group in our place. We had a year end celebration before we parted ways. It is when the “Coffee Story” all started. In Cordillera, we have a special coffee called “Barako.” It has strong taste and flavor with a distinctively pungent aroma. Mind you, at home I drink milk, choco, soybeans, and tea, not coffee. At that certain occasion, everybody was enjoying drinking coffee while dancing, singing, and telling stories. Well, being part of the group, I drank my share of a cup of coffee. For the first time I whispered to myself, “Oh, this is Barako; it’s good I tried it.”The celebration took quite long, so going home was really late. I felt exhausted at that time, so to hit my bed was the only thought in my head. I closed my eyes to slumber, yet couldn’t sleep. I rolled on my bed trying to make myself more comfortable to start my good night rest. However, I was still totally wide awake. I was so upset that I cried because I badly needed to sleep. I closed my eyes pretending I would be able to sleep after a couple of minutes. After patiently waiting, nothing, literally nothing happened. As I was in my moment of counting sheep, it occurred to me that it was because of the cup of coffee I drank. From that time on, I dared not to drink coffee. I said to myself that I will never ever trade my doze for a cup of coffee. Yes, I am cautious when it comes to a talk about drinking coffee. Just to tell you why that invitation is taken superficially. ^_^

So how did I reply to the message? I said, “Sure next time.” When my reply was taken unclearly, a further question was asked for validation. Unfortunately, my answer was, “Oh, I am busy.” Was it for real? Yes, I was busy at that time. I paused and thought about how I responded. I bet I made the right decision. Why did I say so? For so many reasons - of which is time. Maybe for some it is not a big deal, but then for me it is such a big deal coupled with other reasons in mind.

Of course sending my reply didn’t end there. The following day was Monday. I needed to be at school, so before entering, I inhaled and exhaled. Mind you it’s not part of my routine, not at all. But on that day, I just needed to do that. I slowly opened the door. I greeted everyone good morning. He looked at me, and I looked at him too. For a while we had a staring competition. It was awkward, but it did happen.

Was my response affected by my unforgettable ‘Coffee Story’? Ask me. I would say, not at all. I don’t drink coffee, but I drink tea - this statement is not actually related. I would like to just put it this way - “If you had just asked for a cup of tea, it would have been yes for an answer. (seriously?)

Enjoy your cup of coffee or a cup of tea!

Have a relaxing day ahead! ^_^

Sort:  

Well I gave up coffee after some issues in my health.
Thanks for the tea (Smiley)

So, you chose health over coffee. ^_^
Great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64690.76
ETH 3423.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51