You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The TRUTH about Coffee: Part 1

in #coffee7 years ago

Great article @ecoinstant!
Out of curiosity, in what way are you trying to transition to more sustainable systems?
Looking forward to reading your next piece. Upvoted and following.

Sort:  

Thanks for reading @fabulousfungi !
I've got more to show but for now check out this picture:
https://steemit.com/nature/@ecoinstant/intercropping-agroforesty-food-forest-systems

The short answer is intercropping with more trees and bushes.

Thanks! In fact I was going to suggest looking into using some of the agricultural waste generated in your farm to grow mushrooms. There's an extensive scientific literature on the subject of cultivating fungi on coffee pulp and coffee husk.

I have bags of it laying around! I usually mix it into my compost. The only real doubt I have is getting spores for a commercial variety of mushroom....any suggestions?

Also following you for fungi posts! We sometimes explore the backwoods looking for interesting mushrooms to photograph. When you find a good tag for fungi posts I'll be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60592.45
ETH 2714.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45