You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Artibeus's Cuppa Joe Review: Best Coffee for Home Brewing!

in #coffee6 years ago

Oh ho - coffee chat on Steemit. Nice!

I think there are two factors at play for good home-brewed coffee.

The first is the age of the beans after roasting. I buy recently-roasted beans thanks to a great little café that lets me buy 1kg bags from them. I can tell the difference as the beans age before I've consumed them all. I do keep them in an airtight container, but they still oxidise.

The second is pressure. This is where I struggle. I use an AeroPress and it's getting old now, so if I push down hard I get coffee coming down the side of the mug. I used to have one of the Italian stove top ones, but I don't know what happened to it. Lost in a house move probably.

Buying beans off a supermarket shelf is a waste of time though. You might as well just buy pre-ground in that case, because of the age thing, and save yourself the hassle of grinding. Now a Wholefoods or something like that, sure. Just check the roasting date.

But if I can't indulge in coffee snobbery, sometimes brown piss does the job!

Sort:  

Hey great you came along @camuel :D ...cool, thanks for removing any hassle in organising and thinking about grinding for myself when it's 6 and half a doz with the brown piss lol. I'll check Wholefoods and the roasting date. Don't wanna put you on the spot, but heard of Mayorga?

What's the age limit for the beans then - once they've been ground? I kilo of coffee would last me approx 2 weeks I think!

Not heard of Mayorga. I get mine either at Gordon St Coffee in Glasgow or at the local caf here, where they bring them in from Green Coffee Roasters in Glasgow.

There's no age limit as such, but as you said, after 7 days you'll notice and it's a steady decline after that. A kilo lasts me around two weeks too, but it's much more cost effective than buying smaller bags. The local caf here also sells them cheaper than Gordon St. I pay £20 a bag here. I think Gordon St is at least £25.

My bestie in Luxembourg sends us an Italian hamper every year, including Italian beans roasted goodness knows when, so I'm going through them just now. I'm looking forward to finishing them so I can go back to the freshly roasted!

Holy beans from the arabica plant!! You guys got me salivating, @barge and @camuel!

Love all of this coffee banter! @Camuel you undoubtedly sound like you know your stuff, and @barge there's no denying that sometimes you just gotta go for the brown piss. Lol!

I really do need to concentrate on getting the most fresh beans I can find. One of my close friends also just tried roasting his own for the first time and he said the taste was mind-blowing! Aaaannd I'm drooling again.

You guys have inspred me to do a post on my coffee routine so look for that soon. Thanks so much for the support and I'll be following you both! Stay awesome, fellow coffee drinkers!

Awesome @artibeus! I'm not really a font of all knowledge - just a guy that likes coffee. Marco Arment used to talk a lot about coffee on his podcast with Dan Benjamin. That's how I found the Baratza grinder, through his show. Home roasting is a step beyond how geeky I'd like to get!

I look forward to your coffee posts in future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55