Roasting green coffee beans (part of my work)

in #coffee7 years ago

In my Steemit introduction post I mentioned that I roasted coffee and would cover this as part of my posts. This is a small introduction to some of my coffee world, I purchase a variety of different green coffee beans from all around the world - here is a 60kg sack of Ethiopian Yirgacheffe

EthiopiaRockoMountainSack.png

Coffee grows on trees - the coffee beans I roast actually form inside a cherry - with two coffee beans inside each cherry.

EthiopiaRockoMountainCherries.png

The cherries are picked off the trees, and then processed to remove the coffee beans from the cherries. This can either be sun drying so the cherry dries out and can be broken up to remove the beans - or a washing process where the cherries are run through a water system to break them apart and extract the coffee beans.

EthiopiaRockoMountainPicking.png

As you can see above the green coffee beans, once free from the cherry are sorted. When they are sorted beans are collected together that are a similar size - and any beans with defects (broken, damaged or various issues while they were growing) are discarded.

EthiopiaRockoMountainUpClose.png

The green coffee beans I receive in a 60kg sack look like they above picture - all that careful picking and sorting produces a perfect product ready to be roasted.

ToperCoffeeRoasters.png

And this is where I roast the green coffee, the bigger machine on the right is a 5kg Gas Heated coffee roaster - as the name suggests it will roast 5kg of green coffee beans in one go. The two smaller machines are 1kg electric coffee roasters. Roasting coffee can take between 12 and 17 minutes depending on the type of coffee and how dark you wish to roast it. When the coffee reaches the darkness in colour I want it - then I release it into a large cooling tray at the front that sucks cold air over the beans and stirs the beans to make sure they do not burn while cooling.

giphy-downsized-large.gif

And that completes this post, coffee from plant to roasted coffee bean. Of course now we need to grind the roasted coffee beans up and brew them in something - but that will a different post to look forward to.

You can see the green coffee bean varieties I sell here https://www.pennineteaandcoffee.com/collections/green-coffee

The Speciality coffee beans I roast and sell are listed here https://www.pennineteaandcoffee.com/collections/speciality-roasted-coffee

And you can see the Turkish coffee roastings machines I deal with here https://topercoffeeroasters.co.uk

Sort:  

Only just found out you were on here buddy :)

It's taken me a long time to work it out, but now I have it figured it's become very quickly additive.

This was full of info I didn't know. Full upvote and reteemed! Well done!

Thanks Paul, I'm going to keep up with the coffee related posts so look out for future good ones.

I like to drink coffee very much and few times a day.

Thanks, I do too and how you brew it can make a big difference. Look out for my future posts where I cover different ways to brew coffee.

Very nice article, the layout is easy to read also. Thank you for sharing!

Rob

Thanks, from one Rob to another it is very much appreciated. Look out for future posts on coffee brewing.

Loading...

What an interesting story is behind my cup of coffee!☕ I have never seen this before. Thank you @c0ff33a, you opened my eyes.☕

Thank you for the reply, and actually I really like your channel description - original content that is what shines on here. Followed to check out your content - the real story behind coffee is quite amazing and this is just a tiny taster - and the small batch roasters around the world are starting a revolution in taste and quality that not only gives consumers better quality product and provenance but also helps the growing plantations - when you grow a coffee tree it can take 3 to 5 years to fruit - so it's a long haul process. And only one crop a year - if the weather doesn't go well the crop can be small or non existant. I love Australia Skybury coffee - but last year the crop bottomed out and there has been none to buy - I am hoping this years crop will be available soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66