Coffee from around the World Peruvian Arabica from FINCA EL HUAYACAN Y LA LUCUMA grown by LUCIANO PEREZ PEREZ

in #coffee7 years ago (edited)

Coffee from around the World Peruvian Arabica from FINCA EL HUAYACAN Y LA LUCUMA grown by LUCIANO PEREZ PEREZ

IMG_1058.jpg

Continuing my series about green coffee I sell as green for people to roast themselves, and I also roast and sell it to wholesale and domestic customers - this week we have a Peruvian coffee from LUCIANO PEREZ PEREZ - and he even has his characture on the coffee sacks! This was part of special incentive from one of the coffee brokers I use, they offered exclusive rights to a portion of his crop to different areas in the world - in the UK I took the exclusive 300kg batch of green coffee available - that's alot of cups of coffee!

perezperez1.png

This is LUCIANO PEREZ PEREZ in person, he is 64 years old and still working hard growing coffee crops - with 10 brothers and sisters his family are all into farming one way or another.

perezperez2.png

We can learn a little more about the coffee he grows, including the tasting notes - these are flavours we should expect to find when drinking his coffee - although it all depends on how we brew it as to what flavours will develop. Certianly Cherry, Vanilla and Caramel are easy to find when drinking this coffee.

IMG_1061.jpg

These are his green coffee beans straight from the sack, we need to roast them before we can make a lovely cup of coffee with them.

IMG_1062.jpg

And this is how they look after I have roasted them, like most of my speciality coffee I choose to roast them light - just after the first crack of the bean I increase temperature a little to develop flavour and then release them to cool. The longer you roast coffee the darker it gets - the flavour gets stronger but you loose the subtle tastes.

perezperez3.png

We learn a little more about the coffee grower, despite growing some of the best coffee in his region he always looks to make it better still! It must be time to try it out and see what it is like.

IMG_1063.jpg

The trusty Aeropress is the brew method of choice, the subtle flavours are really pulled out by this brew method making it ideal for tasting the flavours the grower wants us to find.

IMG_1064.jpg

You can find plenty of guides online for the perfect ground coffee weight to hot water mix for the perfect brew, it's a delicate balance too little ground coffee and the brew will be weak - too much and it get's way too strong and you loose the best of the flavours.

IMG_1065.jpg

I prefer using the Aeropress with the inverted technique - it allows me to infuse the ground coffee with the hot (but not boiling water - very important to use 90 degrees to 95 degrees hot water - or leave it a few minutes after the kettle is boiled)

IMG_1068.jpg

And here is the fresh brewed coffee ready to drink, with the aeropress you fit a filter cap to it with a filter paper in - pre-moistening the filter paper with hot water keeps it in place while you fit it. The filter paper traps the ground coffee giving you a clean fresh cup.

perezperez5.png

A little more on the coffee farmer, he keeps some live stock too.

IMG_1059.jpg

The reverse of his coffee sacks tells us more about the coffee, his plantation is Fairtrade Certified and also Soil Association Organic Certified - meeting these standards requires exceptional efforts from the growers so he has truly put everything into making his crop the best it can be.

perezperez6.png

And this is a picture of his plantation, you can see the green fruits on the coffee plant - these are called coffee cherries and will turn red when ripe - red when we talk about green coffee? The coffee cherry has two green beans inside - they sit with the flat side facing each other - so when coffee is picked they need to remove the beans from the outer fleshy cherry. How they do this also changes the flavour of the coffee - some will sun dry them, others wash them.

IMG_1071.jpg

And now to drink some, today I'm definitely finding the chocolate and vanilla - a truly incredible coffee from a dedicated coffee grower.

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

JoinSteamfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes
https://steemfollower.com/?r=158
It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

My Dash Wallet
dash:Xqjemfc9gEmrnXQ7KPdADmNpdpncMHB47C
My Bitcoin Wallet
bitcoin:1G7psTXjKV3URkF7sLprgQrcv9Ar9HoPap

Feel free to help me fill them if you have any spare crypto currency you would like to share ;-)

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team https://steemit.com/steemit/@guidesteemit/guidesteemit-voting-bot-for-1-month-join-our-channel-you-will-get-more-information

Follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/c0ff33a)

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

If you ever come to Denmark, stop by my ice cream bar where we also sell coffee ;)

Thanks for taking a look at my post and commenting, I might just do that one day!

Those sacks of coffee look really heavy, are they?

Most weigh 60kg, which is a two man lift really. I get by moving them around on pallets or a hydraulic trolley and dragging them. I can lift them a little but it doesn't do me any good!

thanks for sharing this infrmative article about coffee. i am an Arab from Algerian in nort Africa. but I guess arabic cofee is more green than this and have amzing testy its very strong. by the way you should now best arab coffe is from yamen. thanks again

Thank you for taking the time to look at my post, I do sell a great deal of Yemen Mocca Matari coffee too.

yeah Mocca Matari coffee is amazing. glad to hear that you are full of information about coffee. glad to meet you here dear friend.

I'm drinking coffee a lot send some @c0ff33a

I bet most people don't think about all of the hard work that goes into their morning cup of coffee. :)

It is a complicated process from coffee plant to your coffee cup, but quite fascinating when you look at how coffee is grown and then processed by the plantations.

When you break it all down like this, it sure does make me appreciate my oh-so-wonderful cup of java in the morning! French Press or grind my own. I love it fresh!

Thank you so much for this wonderful post. tip!

It's just part of my job, lucky me getting to try all these wonderful coffee's every day though! People are starting to drink my fresh coffee - which is why so many small coffee roasting business's are starting up - so people can enjoy truly fresh days after roasting coffee.

Sounds like the most awesome job on the planet!

Huh! That coffee you are drinking looks delicious and tasty! Keep it up with this post of yours! Congratulations my dear friend @c0ff33a! I wish you have a great night!

Thank you for always taking the time to look through my posts and leave a comment, always very much appreciated.

Many studies have shown that caffeine can increase fat burning in the body and increase metabolic rate. Studies have shown that the risk of type 2 diabetes decreases by 9% per person who takes one cup of coffee per day. Drinking coffee regularly reduces the risk of developing Parkinson's disease by 25%
Thanks for sharing brother i love it

Congratulations @c0ff33a, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2536 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2591.49. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36