Cinnamon Frappe: Greek-style iced coffee with an extra healthy touch

in #coffee6 years ago

Let's start being honest: I'm a FOODIE!

To share food, drinks, chats and a good laugh with my family and/or friends is pretty much my idea of a happy life. Too simple? Yeah, may be but... it's all I need! Well, and a bit of sun if possible.

Frappé de canyella2.jpg

However, the exception proves the rule, right?

My 'solo' moment is my coffee moment! I like black coffee! Strong and deep in flavour. No milk or sugar added. I drink 2 of them a day. The first one in the morning. I wake up early to make sure I can enjoy it. The second one, after lunch.

My coffee means time for me! No talks. My brain is allowed to rest, and my soul can fly free. A pure moment of joy: me, myself and I. As a result, I drink my coffee very slowly and often cold, but I don't mind at all.

And a Frappe stole my heart

Last summer was my first time in Greece: Athens! With a friend. We stayed 5 days. We admired and wondered along the Ancient Ruins, but we didn't go to the islands. Locals were surprised: nobody stays longer than 2-3 days in Athens! Well, I’m not competitive at all when traveling. I don’t have to see all what’s written in the tourist guide. I’m a slow-paced traveller happy to enjoy all little things and, If you ask me, taking the time to try new food and traditional drinks is the best part of traveling: it tells you a lot about the country you are visiting. It doesn't matter how weird or unusual the food is, I like to try it! In fact, I wouldn’t be able to offer you the Frappe recipe if I wouldn’t have exchanged a few words with the Greeks.

All you need is a glass jar like this one:

Ingredients and method

The Ingredients aren’t difficult to find at all:

2 teaspoons instant coffee
2 teaspoons sugar
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)
150 -200 ml cold water
Ice cubes
1 scoop whipped cream (optional)

Personally, I love to add an extra ½ teaspoon of cinnamon to the list. Basically, because I like how it tastes and for all the healthy benefits that a single pinch of cinnamon offers you. Think that a teaspoon of cinnamon contains as many antioxidants as 50 grams of blueberries, for example. But I know that cinnamon is not everyone’s cup of tea so… is optional!

Once we have the ingredients, to prepare a Frappe is child’s play. No cooking skills are needed. Really easy!!

Let’s put the coffee, sugar and cinnamon (if you decide to give it a try) in the glass jar. After adding 35-40 ml of cold water, we twist close the jar and we start shaking our coffee. To count the shakes helps you to have a better idea how long you should shake. In general, with every shake you feel less liquid until you will no longer feel the water (around 40 shakes)

Fill a long glass with the desired number of iced cubes. I like it with 4 big ice cubes or 6 small ones. This is quite personal so feel free! Pour the coffee emulsion in the glass and add the rest of cold water. Slowly stir the Frappe with a straw and enjoy it!!!

Feeling like a treat?

Try to top your Frappe with a scoop of whipped cream and dust it with ground cinnamon (yes, again!) or cocoa powder. Delicious!!

What do you think, is cinnamon your spice? And iced coffee... yes or no?

Sort:  

well, very nice post for a first one

I personally like iced coffee (not a big cinnamon fan though) we make it as well from time to time but with our espresso machine

Thank you very much @felander! Lots to learn but luckily enough, I have you: get ready for my questions!! ;) And for the Frappe yes, I use my coffee machine quite often too but I like the fact that it can be made in such an easy way.

Congratulations @bdbruixes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Well, thanks a lot @steemitboard. Such a wonderful surprise! :)

Easy peasy, but oh so nice! I'm guessing you enjoyed drinking these frappes together with the Greeks instead of alone? :-)

Congratulations @bdbruixes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54