Making the perfect cup of coffee

in #coffee7 years ago

It all began when I first tried a cappuccino at Starbucks years ago. I hated it at first because I didn't know what it was, but I wanted to try it. But I powered through the whole cup because I didn't want to just throw it away. After getting used to the dark espresso flavor, I realized it wasn't that bad. I had been used to flavored drinks so having a true espresso drink was way different. I started experimenting with other drinks and learning what they actually are and how to make them.

My first purchase was a French Press (besides owning a Keurig 2.0). You can get a basic French Press for ~$20. I started by buying a bag of ground beans from Starbucks. To be fair, I didn't know the benefit of buying fresh local beans from a farmer's market until later. Making just a normal cup of black coffee using a French Press is so easy. If I just want one cup, I'll do one scoop of coffee (two if I want to be awake all day) mixed with one cup of hot water. I let it steep for about four minutes, press, then pour and enjoy the dark flavor. If you aren't a fan of hot coffee, the French Press is great for making cold brew. Cold brew is coffee that is steeped in the fridge for 16-24 hours. My ratio is about three scoops of ground beans and four cups of water. The next day it's ready and I have a perfect iced drink. IMG_20161212_231005.jpg

My next purchase was a Moka pot. More specifically, a Bialetti stovetop espresso maker. This is my favorite morning routine ever. For those that don't know, a Moka pot can be used to make espresso without the use of a very expensive espresso machine. Moka pots are also on the cheap side around $20-$30. This makes it really easy to make a small espresso for that extra boost, mix it with a coffee from the French Press to make a Red-Eye, or start making latte's and cappuccinos on the cheaper side. These drinks typically take around 10 minutes just because I keep the stove on medium so it doesn't make the espresso too bitter. 0105171553.jpg

Now that I have all the tools, I started to experiment with making latte's and cappuccinos without the expensive equipment a college student can't afford. Latte's and cappuccinos vary based on the ratio of espresso to milk you want and how much foam you like. For me, I will typically make a cappuccino which requires 2/3 espresso to 1/3 steamed milk. Once the espresso is ready, I pour that into a mug, heat up the milk in the microwave for about 40 seconds, then use my Aerolatte milk frother to stir the milk and foam about half of it. Once that's done, I pour it over the espresso and enjoy. IMG_20170109_104723.jpg
I'm still practicing with other measurements to get the perfect flavor.

I'd recommend going to a local coffee bar and trying some of their drinks as they tend to be lower priced and personally taste better than a corporate chain. I'm not bashing Starbucks, I still enjoy going there, but I enjoy the environment more of a local coffee bar. Makes for a perfect date with my girlfriend. Back home, I love Brew Cary. They have unique drinks and they're nitro cold brew is amazing.
1126161116.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79