Coffee with Video Games! How the Game Persona 5 Sparked My Interest in the World of Coffee

in #coffee6 years ago (edited)

Even though I've always liked coffee, I had only known the common supermarket coffee and the espressos from snack bars. I had absolutely no idea of the different beans and brewing methods that exist. I only got introduced to this vast world thanks to... guess what? A video game! Despite my visual impairment, I've always liked video games. The game that entertained me for most of last year (2017) was Persona 5, an RPG available for PS3 and PS4.

In Persona 5, the protagonist is a high school student who is unjustly accused of a crime he didn't commit, and is sent to Tokyo on probation. There, he discovers that he has the power to enter the minds of corrupt people and remove the corruption from their hearts, a power he can use to fight injustices such as the one he suffered. He makes friends with other misunderstood and marginalized teenagers, and together they form the group of Phantom Thieves, who "steal" hearts of corrupt people and make them confess all their crimes. If it were here in Brazil, the Phantom Thieves would have a lot of work! (but a lot of coffee too:P )

"Okay, but what does coffee have to do with anything?"

Well, it so happens that the protagonist is forced to live in the attic of a coffee shop, and one of the activities for getting items for missions is to learn how to make coffee! And not the cheap supermarket kind. It's the better quality kind, the so called specialty coffee, or gourmet coffee. The game gives trivia about different coffee beans, and the list even includes two Brazilian coffees! (since I'm Brazilian, I was happy to find this out)

And this was how I began getting curious about different coffees. I wrote a post on my blog talking about coffee in Persona 5, my discoveries, and the modest start of my journey into the coffee world. A link to the post is below (I won't paste the text here because I don't want to duplicate my blog's content):

http://aiyumi.warpstar.net/en/blog/p5-coffee/

Below is a picture of a cup with one of the different coffees I bought to try out, brewed in the normal coffee maker here at home.

New Guinea coffee inside a cup

Own picture, taken with a smartphone

So, How about some coffee? Just coffee, with milk, or with video games? ;)

Sort:  

I too enjoy the role-playing games, especially the simulation based versions. Interesting stuff @aiyumi!

I think you might enjoy Persona 5, then.

Oops, just now I've realized I had forgotten to mention in the post that Persona 5 is a role-playing game. Fixed now!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26