Suesa's Adventures in Programming - Part 4/? - Half way through the basics

in #coding6 years ago (edited)


By yeniguel on pixabay.com


Half way through.PNG

It's been a bit over a week since I started my "Introduction To JavaScript" course on Codecademy, and as of today, I'm 50% done. I'm a lot faster than I had anticipated, but I think that's partially this way because SML taught me certain basics that apply to JS too. Yay! Those weeks crying over math were not wasted!

Anyway, what did it teach me after my last post about it?

I wrote a short rock/scissors/paper game (yes, it is important to insult the user if you want to test if your code works):

It's a tie.png

owned by ai.png
You won.png

With ... cheats:

Da bomb.png

I also figured out why my plants always die, seems like it is never Wednesday when I check ...

Plant needs water.PNG

I don't understand why people keep asking me how to best take care of their plants, just because I am a biologist. All my plants have died. All of them. A slow, cruel, death.

I also learned about arrays, in the form of a list of chores. I might have gotten something mixed up here tho.

chores.PNG

Arrays are also great to imitate "Dory" from "Finding Nemo". Remember her? She knows how to speak with whales. Well, with my code, you can too! Just 20 Steem!

whale speak.PNG

There were more exercises, of course. The lessons are quite extensive, and I like how gamified the whole thing is, albeit a little bit expensive.

My most recent "mini-project" was a program that's supposed to replace @rhondak as an editor :P

That's the output:

Your story contains.png

However, coding it didn't go as smoothly as expected, because the instructions Codecademy gave me where, honestly, overly complicated. So I did it my way. Fuck the police.

Fuck the police.png

Just for shits and giggles, I added some more info to the output text. Here's the whole code:

Improve your text.PNG

And because I'm Marcell D'Avis* Suesa and because having a 16h/week lab job, being COO at Utopian, overseeing the steemSTEM honor members, moderating steem.chat #general, writing occasional Steem posts, going to the gym 5 times a week, and learning JavaScript does not use me to full capacity, I have also started learning Irish.

Suesa out.

grafik.png



*This is a joke for the Germans.

Sort:  

You reached Ireland?

Not yet. I'll probably make a big celebration post once I've been accepted to the university of my choice.
But practicing Irish helps with anxiety ^^'

Best wishes :)

I think people ask you how to take care of your plants, for this bad habit of generalizing and supposing everything. They say that if you are a biologist, you know how to take care of plants, if you are a computer engineer, you know how to fix computers ... And so on.

About the musicians they often say that if we know how to play, it is because we also know how to dance. Big mistake! They are totally different things.

It's good that you're making progress in your programming classes, and that you're doing very well, that's the most important thing!

So you can't dance? :P

Is that they are very different things, and that they require practice, in my case I do not dance because I never set out to learn to do it. And well, when I was a child, nobody had patience with that ... Hahaha!

It's like being bilingual, if we can see music and dance like two totally different languages.

Congratulations @suesa-random! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72