Looking for some help on Steem Widgets!

in #coding6 years ago (edited)


Steem Widgets.png


I really appreciate the work that @mkt did with Steem Widgets... my skittles (Skills) in coding are not as sharp as they used to be. I am using this to post my blog on a local radio website. But, I only want to include 2 blog categories... allaboutgrapevine and whatshappening.

I am using the tool to dynamically place my post when I complete them. But, for example this post will show u-p on the website which is not the topic for the blog. I have started making these 2 categories as the first Tag for the Main Category. By the way, I recently made a change for this because I was not correctly using the Tags. :) That is another story.

Anyway... this request is for the Techie Steemian folks that know how I should code the Template to only pull these 2 categories. Here is the code I am using:

<link rel="stylesheet" href="https://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/uikit/2.27.5/css/uikit.min.css"/>
<script src="https://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/uikit/2.27.5/js/uikit.min.js"></script>

<div id="steemit-widgets-blog"></div>

<script src="https://cdn.steemjs.com/lib/latest/steem.min.js"></script>
<script src="https://mktcode.github.io/steemit-widgets/assets/js/steemit-widgets.min.js"></script>
<script src="https://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/moment.js/2.18.1/moment.min.js"></script>


<template id="my-blog-post-template">

<div class="uk-width-medium-1-2 uk-container-center">
<div style="border: 5px solid rgb(0, 168, 230); border-radius: 5px; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; margin-bottom: 15px;"><a href="${URL}" style="border-top-right-radius: 0px; border-top-left-radius: 0px; height: 250px; display: block; background-image: url('${IMAGE}'); background-size: cover; background-position: center center;"></a><h2 style="margin: 0px; font-size: 16px; text-align: left; line-height: 16px; padding: 7px 10px;"><a href="${URL}" style="color: rgb(68, 68, 68); text-decoration: none;">                        ${TITLE}                    </a></h2> <div style="font-size: 12px; color: rgb(136, 136, 136); padding: 0px 10px 5px; background: rgb(255, 255, 255); text-align: left;"><span>${DATE}</span> <span>by <a href="https://steemit.com/@${AUTHOR}" style="color: rgb(68, 68, 68); text-decoration: none;">${AUTHOR}</a></span> (html comment removed: --> <span>in <a href="https://steemit.com/@${AUTHOR}" style="color: rgb(68, 68, 68); text-decoration: none;">${CATEGORY}</a></span></div> <!--)
</div>
</div>
</template>

<script>
  steemitWidgets.blog({
    element: 'steemit-widgets-blog',
    user: 'paulcaraway',
    limit: 10,
    template: 'my-blog-post-template',
    reputationPrecision: 1,
    updateInterval: 60,
    dateCallback: function (date) {return moment.utc(date).from(moment.utc().format('YYYY-MM-DD HH:mm:ss'));}
  });
</script>

Any help is greatly appreciated... I will even give 5 Steem for the first correct answer! Plus I will upvote all helpful responses as my way of saying thank you for the support!

By the way, I started writing my blogs because I love the area I live in... I started sharing it on other platforms and now I am the blogger for the station! So don't ever think you are wasting your time. You never know where an opportunity and a prior relationship will bring you value and appreciation!

Thank you everyone and happy blogging!

Sort:  

Hey @paulcaraway! I'm afraid there's currently no easy way to achieve what you want. The plugin does not support filtering the blog by specific categories. If I find the time next week, I can maybe add this feature.

Anyway, thanks for using and promoting my plugin. It's a bit old and actually I would like to completely refactor it. But this small change might make it into the current version. ;)

Thank you @mkt it is greatly appreciated! I know there has to be a way to exclude Category just can't seem to wrap my head around it right now. Is there a way to temporarily use the SteemitWidget to share specific posts? Thank you once again for the response!

Yes, you can share a specific post. Here's the related part of the docs: https://mktcode.github.io/steemit-widgets/#options-full-post

Is that how you displayed the "User Blog" Section. I don't want to show the full post just the block so they can go and read the full post. :) Like a specific post example under the "User Blog" section.

Sorry, misunderstanding. No, there's currently no option. At least no option that the plugin provides. You could remove unwanted posts afterwards but that's a little bit hacky and I have no time now. Sorry! :(

Ok... I appreciate your time and responses... Have an awesome day / night!

Again.... maybe I can add this feature next week. Feel free to remind me! ;)

I hope you are having an awesome week @mkt. I am checking with you to see if adding in the "Category" option is a possibility this week! I did see someone else write about a tool they created that allows the search by any #Tag item. Thank you for your help...

Thank you for all the votes! Any helpers? :) The 5 STEEM offer is still on the table! Any suggestions @brandonfrye?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81