Here's How To Learn JavaScript For Free (Instead Of Paying Like Me!)

in #coding7 years ago

I am doing my online JavaScript course, and I'm pretty happy with it. I have a little experience with code, so it's mostly just learning the syntax – what are the commands that mean this, which way do you order operators, etc.

Cobbling together some JavaScript is new for me, but not unfamiliar. I'm very happy so far with the quality and pace of the online intensive course I paid for at Codecademy. For me, it was the right choice. It gives me the added accountability without the commute.

sortino215039.jpg

But you have plenty of options for learning the coding skills you need without paying anything. No one will be cheering you to the finish line. It's all up to you.

Free Training In JavaScript Coding

Learning on your own offers even more freedom with scheduling, but it’s totally on you to complete the training. For the intrepid self-starter, there are several places to find quality tutorials for JavaScript (and other programming languages) that charge nothing for the instruction. When I attended the intro class for CodeFellows, the instructor began by coming clean –

"There's nothing that we will teach you that you can't find for yourself online for free. We just bring it to you and present it to you, so you don't have to find it yourself and wonder which sources are legit."

That collection of valuable training, along with them spoon-feeding it to you the student is actually quite a valuable service. So is the intensive training environment and the job matching servLearnthat CodeFellows provides. It's out of my price range, but I admire the CodeFellows program.

Anyone Can Learn To Code JavaScript For Free

Due to my own location and other cost issues, I chose an online intensive with Codecademy. It's not free (but it is a whole lot cheaper). It just requires more independence and self-starting. But still not as much as the free training requires.

JavaSpiske.jpg

Here are a few of the best options for free JavaScript learning:

  • Mozilla – Tutorials and documentation from the creators of JavaScript
  • Codecademy – their free JavaScript course
  • Learn JS – one of a family of domains (all linked from this one) that offer free training in programming languages like JavaScript, Ruby, Python, and C++.
  • FreeCodeCamp is a fantastic online code training project that I just recently learned about that offers training in more than just JavaScript. They also offer their curriculum for use by other educators – high school teachers, for example.

The material in any of the courses listed above is thorough, high-quality training. The training material is free, but you will be on your own to complete it. Stick with it.

Good luck!

UVFRS.gif

Keep on Steemin'!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82