CodeMash 2018 (Part 3 - Drinking from the Fire-hose)

in #codemash6 years ago

drinking from the firehose.jpg

So this was officially Precompiler Day One of CodeMash and my 9th of 30 in my 30 Day Challenge. This picture pretty much sums it up.

I hit the breakfast bar early and I'm glad I did.

ballroom-all-setup.jpg

early-breakfast-crowd.jpg

Sessions were 4 hours long and really good. Substratum didn't show up yet. There was only one vendor here today and I think the others are all going to be pretty bummed out they didn't come earlier in the week. I've never seen so many people at the first two days. Both sessions had standing room only. For one they ended up opening up the dividing wall because there were just double the people than expected. Thankfully the Kalahari staff really know what they are doing. Within 6 minutes the wall was down and two huge screens were showing the presentation. So onto what I chose for the day.

Electron in the Morning (Sounds like a song, doesn't it?)

If you're a web developer and need to develop a desktop app (a lot of new crypto wallets are built in Electrum), I can say without much doubt that Electron is the tech to use. It was an 8 exercise workshop but didn't take near as long as the 4 hours allotted. The presenter was knowledgeable and helped most of us in all the right places. If I'm going to be writing a desktop app in the future, this is probably the tech I'll be using to do it in.

Build Modern CSS Right

I'm no designer by any means. I can get by with the CSS so I thought this is a perfect session to help me tool up. OH MY! I'd been stuck in Bootstrap land for so long that I had no idea the new tools that are available to the designers and developers out there. This could have been an entire workshop on Flexbox and/or Grid and newer units of measure, but it wasn't. The two speakers did an awesome job giving us a huge list of resources and examples on how to do things the right way. When I see a title like "Do something Right", I'm often skeptical, but this time there was no reason for the skepticism. They knew their stuff and presented it expertly, with a lot of fun and frivolity thrown in along the way. I have to admit four hours was a bit much and I do wish we would have covered a little less and done some examples, but all in all, it was amazing. I have a lot to learn.

If you struggle with CSS and design here is a resource and place to start that might just help you out. It includes tons of info and tools that help with learning Flexbox, Grid, Mix Blend, Filters and other stuff. There is so much info. I'm going to have to keep going back to my previous post about "i+1" so I don't get discouraged by how much I don't know. @rubenalexander, could you look through these resources and then would you mind sending me an email on how much of this you are knowledgeable in? It would be an amazing help, and give us a leg up for @SFEOS.

Long Day

So it's been a loooooooooong day, but very rewarding. I'm going to do some work on SFEOS and call it a night.

Potpourri of Potential Future Posts for #challenge30days

  • The Phoenix Protocol - I might do some more brainstorming on this.
  • Tribute to my Uncle Raymond (98 years old and we just went to his funeral Jan 2nd)
  • The addictive dice game my wife and I play at the kitchen table now that our kids are growing up and doing their own things.
  • SFEOS - Developing a Crowd Founding Platform and Network of Gamers from the Ground Up.
  • EOS Development (Learning on the Test Network - both local and public test net)
  • Codemash 2018 (A yearly developer conference I attend in Sandusky Ohio) - Probably multiple posts on this. My family has been attending with me the last few years. They have fun doing the water park while I geek out with my peeps.
  • My life as a traveling gospel teacher.
  • My Personal Fight for Economic Freedom for Everyone through Crypto
  • My struggles to stick with things over the years on a consistent basis… This one is going to hurt a bit and not sure how much I'll share.
  • Adventures in Sailing (well learning to sail)
  • Adventures in Weight Loss (More details on how the winter season is affecting my weight loss)
  • Anything else I can think up...
Sort:  
@rubenalexander, could you look through these resources and then would you mind sending me an email on how much of this you are knowledgeable in? It would be an amazing help, and give us a leg up for @SFEOS.

I will let you know. I think I am familiar with some of it and can create a mini demo.

I need to sleep, but I made it through about 40 percent of the materials. I know a lot of it, but the CSS I see here is much more efficient than what I knew. I will continue to go through it and provide updates.

Went through slides, completed flexbox froggy, and grid garden.

Yeah, that session was very eye opening to me. There is a ton I'm behind with in the design/layout field. It's crazy that in such a short time the technology moves on if I'm not in it everyday. I see the the reasoning and benefits of why it is going the way it's going now. In the past we had to use HTML for something it wasn't meant for. We started with tables for our layouts then moved to css. Now the browser folks are building in tools that allow us actual design tools without the need for any libraries. It's just the next step and I'm glad for it. But man, it would be great if we could just do a Matrix style skill upload. Zap, "I know design!"

That would be so freakin' sweet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99