Code Blog: Pick a random follower (by JR)

in #code7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I was curious how to interact with the Steem blockchain over websockets, so I put together a Codepen using Angular and a little Bootstrap. After an hour or so of reading docs, coding and such, turned out I made a neat tool which lets you pick a (seeded & weighted) random follower from your list. You can also switch usernames and pick a follower from any Steem user account. 

I might go into the technical aspects of it in another post if you all are interested, but for now I'll just share the link. Some of you might find it useful for contests, or giveaways. Feel free to use the tool for your own purposes, and reuse any code you need. :)

https://codepen.io/kryo2k/full/YQpevx/

-JR

P.s.  I am using ES6 JavaScript on this project. You might have problems opening it in older browsers.

P.p.s. Edit: I completely forgot to mention that this is what we'll be using for our milestone raffle/giveaway mentioned here! I'm not the world's best writer lol.

Sort:  

Very nice stuff! Hope it doesn't get lost in the cast
vast ocean of steem

Very true! That ocean is getting bigger every day! I have an eye on the total steem account counter :D Exciting times!

That is very smart bro! Cant wait for more details.

Also upvoted follow me @steemteam59 and check me out

Hey that's awesome! Good work :)

Nice tool. Followed. Waiting for the tech stuff.

Thank for the follow. To help me prepare something useful, what areas of the tech are you interested in?

I'd like to know more about stemit API and front-end stuff.

Ok great. I'll make sure to include these topics in a full-feature followup when I have time to make it :)

If you would like to know some key points immediately, and don't mind doing some homework, check out SteemJS. The docs are a bit ambiguous and slightly behind master, but there are some good examples to start learning from. Also, if you're interested in the provable-random library I used, here I would also check out ChanceJS. The docs there are very good. Both Angular and Bootstrap (main FE components) have massive communities around them, so there is a lot of documentation out there too.

Happy coding!

Wow, thanks everyone! I'd be happy to answer any questions you might have about it. I'm also learning this tech, so if you saw I did something wrong please let me know!

Neat tool! I had fun playing around with it for a couple minutes. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02