CNC adventures, part 2: Laser on the Stepcraft 840!

in #cnc7 years ago

My success and expensive fail when installing a laser on my Stepcraft 840!

Sc840 Laser6.jpg

First a word of warning, NEVER EVER work with a laser this powerful without the proper protective equipment! It will destroy your eyesight with a mere reflexion!

But when that is taken care of, it is great fun to experiment with!!
I bought an "EleksMaker® LA03-3500 450nm 3.5W Blue Laser Module With TTL" from Banggood, it's a 3.5W blue laser diode that comes complete with a driver board ready for TTL modulation of the laser power level. My SC840 has an DB15 connector for accessories like this and I hooked up the laser to the PWM-controlled pins there:

Sc840 Laser.jpg

As you all can see I'm not very good at soldering! But it get's the job done at least...
Here comes the big fail... I had some problems getting the SW to output the correct signal and I tried to measure at the pins of the DB15 connector. It worked fine for several measurements until I accidentally touched another pin in the connector and released the magic blue smoke from the SC840 motherboard! That was a $215 lesson that took a week to fix...
But I replaced the motherboard and in the meantime I had solved the signal problem, turns out that you use a different command to start the laser, M10/M11 instead of the M3/M5 for the spindle start.
Sc840 Laser5.jpg

Here is the business end of the laser and also where the focusing is done, a normal focusing distance is around 50-75mm/2-3" for best power. You can also see the blue 3D-printed part I use to fit the laser into the 43mm standard tool holder of the SC840. I attached a computer fan as well to remove the smoke from the beam.
The laser is now working well and I have started experimenting with cutting paper, cardboard, wood and leather!

If you want me to write a more detailed instruction on how to setup the laser please tell me in the comments!

Sort:  

great post....like it!!

Thank you @mian290!

You are very brave to handle such a great big laser! I wouldn't have the guts to go anywhere near such a beast!!

I approach it with a lot of caution every time, checking that my safety glasses is in place several times before powering on... ;-)

Good to hear. Keep safe.

Thank you @coffeehub, always safety first!

Great works, I wish you success

This post has received a 9.01 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @almvide.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a 4.74 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @almvide.

Nice project, keep it up...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00