LOVE AND ACCOMPANY ELDER AS MUCH AS WE CAN

in #cn8 years ago

One day, my uncle posted a photo he took together with my grandma and wrote "还可以陪阿妈吃几次饭? (How many times I can dine together with mum? )". This made me really sad and I'm really sorry because grandma looked after me since I was born. Brought me up when my parents still working out station. And now when I grown up, I've no time to accompany her.

14715436_993612994099354_2093964754596285627_o8fbb0.jpg

I just come back from visiting her last week. She looks very weak and almost can't recognize me. My brother said he hardly imagine grandma looked so different to past 3 years.

My grandma reached my home town early last century from China as chinese worker. One of her foot was binding foot (缠足). I remember she told me about the pain and suffer of binding foot when I was young. And that's why she'll need to put a small handkerchief or a piece of cloth in her shoe to fit with her foot. She is a mother of 10 children. But most of the time she stayed with my parents and that's the reason my brothers and sisters are grown up together with my grandma. My grandpa passed away the year I born and I have no memory about him. Only I found a lots of self study copy of chinese herbal booklets from my grandpa.

Still, remember when I was young, grandma always bring me to visit my auntie and cook a lots of delicious dishes and snacks for me. I admit that I prefer grandma cooking more than my mum. Every Chinese New Year she'll make a lots of delicious dishes together with my aunties. Just like a magician, she can use some simple and cheap material and made them into amazing foods, such as roasted duck with red rice yeast, fried flour with vegetable, steamed yum and so on.

Things changed when she getting old. Female always experience osteoporosis if they gave born of a lots of children. Same as my grandma. One day she went for walk as exercise and she fell only when she tried to step into house. And we were told she had her hip joint broken and needed to fix an artificial joint. Since then, because old people needed more time to get recover from illness especially operation, she getting less and less on walking. These few years lying on bed become her major activity.

It is correct that when someone getting older and older they needed more and more accompany because they felt lonely. They may behave like children and keep asking for notice from you. My grandma will keep calling for someone, asked for medicine (even just 5 minutes after she took them). Maybe she really felt uncomfortable but doctors also can't help because they can't just keep giving here medicine without actual help to her.

As her grandchild, I wish that she can have comfort sleep without pain. Hope everyone of us treasure the moment with our lovely and only families.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68