《钱在哪儿》(Where the Money Was)翻译第148-150页

in #cn6 years ago

8254378-12af1d508b49aa34.jpg
就在银行旁边,是一个很大的舞台入口。我可以走进去,并且能看到银行的后窗上有栏杆。我和威尔逊(wilson)的计划是从距离两个门远的建筑物的屋顶翻过来,再从天窗爬进去,切断报警,并且锯断一个窗户的所有栏杆。伊根(Eagen)在清晨6点半左右把车开过来,停在银行后面的街上,从舞台入口走进来(我已经将门打开),爬过一些围栏,从窗户爬进来。 因为这是个大银行,员工会在8点后很快到,这样我们三个人开着汽车离开,留下警察呆在那里。我会将员工带到门口,威尔逊(wilson)立即将他们从我身边带离并交给伊根(Eagen)。他在椅子那里看守(他们)。

所有的事情结束后,我们沿原路返回。爬出窗户,翻过围栏,穿过舞台入口,上车。

威尔逊(wilson)和我顺利地完成了我们那部分工作,呆在银行里等待夜晚过去。6点半,我去舞台入口等待伊根(Eagen)并且引导他进来。但是伊根(Eagen)没有出现。到7点钟了,还是没有出现。两个人不可能安全地完成抢劫,尤其是我们没有小车。所以,当伊根(Eagen)在7点半还没有出现的时候,我不得不回到银行告诉威尔逊(wilson)行动取消。出了窗户,我们离开银行,两手空空。

回到公寓,我们发现伊根(Eagen) 醉醺醺的倒在床上。完全不记得他必须起床去抢银行。我对威尔逊(wilson)说,"他帮助我逃出来,所以我欠这个家伙很多责任,但是我可不能让他再将我带进监狱。"

我们将他叫醒,给他冲了个冷水澡,然后我向他摊牌。"约翰尼(Johnny就是伊根),我们刚才搞砸了一个7万5到十万美元的一个活。"我说,"我会给你我剩下的一半钱。我们就此分道扬镳。"

我搬到纽约东部的一个公寓,离威尔逊(wilson)住的地方不远。伊根(Eagen)回到纽约,几周后,我拿起一张报纸,看到他在离时代广场附近的porky Murry的非法卖酒的地方被杀死了。他和那个抢劫犯的女人以及一个酒保为了那个凶手(wrong guy)一直开着那个非法卖酒场所到很晚。

根据那些报纸的说法,主要的嫌疑犯是那个和他一起从新新监狱逃跑的家伙,威廉萨顿(willie sutton我自己)。

即使我对自己的伪装很有信心,我还是决定在费城定居,在那个时候,它被证明是一个非常好客的小镇。我带上了我的新女朋友,奥尔加·科瓦尔斯卡(Olga Kowalska),在和路易斯见面后一周内我遇到奥尔加,当我顺便去roseland看看,遇到这个看上去一脸天真的女孩在和一个英俊年轻的皮条客跳舞,这个家伙为舞厅工作,通过假装认识为了新演出需要招聘的制片人的方式向那些迷上演戏的小家伙下手。我最不愿意做的事就是挑起任何形式的冲突(打架),但是我还是插手进去并把她从他身边带走了。即使她不是我喜欢的类型。我通常更喜欢精致一些,而奥尔加并不是非常瘦的人,她来自俄罗斯家族,有着那些好斗农民的特点。

她是个歌手,而且唱的不错。她用一种伤感的、令人心动的嗓音唱民歌。但是,和其他大多数人一样,纽约对她的天赋并不在意。

她只有十八岁,天真烂漫,从匹兹堡下面的一个钢铁厂小镇来到纽约,身无分文。她是这么容易轻信别人,在我警告她不要相信任何在舞厅里那些盯上她的狡猾家伙和她说的话后,我告诉她,我是个赌徒和地产投机商以及演艺界的中介人,她马上就相信了。她相信我告诉她的所有事情。

我把她带回家,一夜欢愉,她是如此甜美,毫无心机的女孩,我开始迷恋上她。我是如此的喜欢她,所以我劝说 Owney Madden的Cotton俱乐部的经理赫尔曼斯塔克(Herman Stark)安排她唱一些她的民歌。为了她的第一个演唱会,我为她买了件闪闪发光的晚礼服,带她去做美容。赫尔曼没有推荐她成为长期演员。她看上去也不在意。她是我这辈子遇到的最知足的女人。

在我们计划要去费城的那天,我决定去布鲁克林区joe的酒店,酒店离法院不远,在Montague街非常出名。当你成为逃犯后,就会发展出敏锐的感觉,如果有人的眼光长时间在你身上的时候,自动就能感应到。在我坐在那里吃早餐的时候,我突然发现有人正在试图审视我。在合适的时候,我让我的眼光穿过房间,看到原来是约翰尼麦戈文(Johnny McGovern),他是侦探,汤米的兄弟。我实际上几乎是在麦戈文家长大的,约翰尼和汤米一样曾经是我的最好的朋友。他有好些年没有见到我了,虽然,我化妆这么浓,我想他是无法认出我来的,除非我站起来通过我的举止和步伐泄漏了什么。我不应该那么自信。在很短的时间内,约翰尼走过来在桌子旁坐下。"嗨,威廉,"他说。"你在这里究竟在干什么?镇里的每个警察都在找你。"
"你在这里干什么,约翰尼?"我礼貌地问。

他当时正在出庭。"我们正在开庭审理一批抢劫犯。他们抢劫了一个仓库并且伤害了我的伙伴。所以他们给我们5000美元不要指认出他们。"
我问:"你收取了好处吗,约翰尼?"
"你知道我不会收取好处,"他恼火的说。“如果我想赚钱,我会和你一样在外边抢银行。”
听到这消息我很高兴。但我还是不确定他是否会带我走。于是我问他:“警察认为我杀了伊根(Eagen)吗?”

“哦,见鬼,当你还是个小孩的时候,Frankie Phillips就知道你了。任何时候有暴力的犯罪行为,他马上就会把你排除在外。沙利文探长也是一样。他们知道你不会做这些事情。”从他听到的情况来看,他们没有太多的线索,但他认为他们很快就会有很大机会抓到某人。

于是我说,“约翰,如果有人看见我跟你说话,你很容易从警察局拿到免职书。”
他无论如何都要走了。他必须上法庭。

我们一起走出餐馆,他对我说的最后一句话是:“你最好他妈的尽可能快地离开这个小镇。”
“我想你也许在那里有什么事,”我说,当天下午我们就在去费城的路上了。

Right next to the bank, was a large stage entrance. I was able to walk in there, and I could see that the rear windows of the bank had bars on them. The plan was for Wilson and me to get in through the skylight by going over the roof from a building two doors away, disconnect the alarms, and cut all the bars out of one of the windows.伊根(Eagen) was to bring the car around at six-thirty in the morning, park it in the street behind the bank, walk in through the stage entrance (which I would have opened for him), climb over a little fence, and come in through the window. It was going to take three men anyway, with that cop out there, because it was a big bank and the employees arrived very quickly after eight o’clock.I would take them at the door, and Wilson would take them from me immediately and bring them over to 伊根(Eagen), who would be guarding the chairs.

After it was over, we would leave the same way. Out the window, over the fence, through the stage entrance, and out to the car.

Wilson and I carried off our part of it without a hitch, and settled down in the bank to spend the night. At six-thirty I went out to the stage entrance to wait for 伊根(Eagen) and guide him through. No 伊根(Eagen). It gets to be seven o’clock, and still no 伊根(Eagen). It was impossible for two men to do the job with any safety, particularly when we had no car, so when it got to be seven-thirty and 伊根(Eagen) hadn’t shown up, I had to go back into the bank and tell Wilson that it was off. Out the window we went. Empty-handed.

Back at the apartment, we found 伊根(Eagen) flopped down across the bed in a drunken stupor. No thought at all that he had to get up and go rob a bank. I said to Wilson, “I owe this guy a lot of obligation because he helped me get out but I certainly don’t owe him an obligation to put me back again.”

We woke him up and made him take a cold shower, and then I put it to him. “Johnny, we just blew ourselves a seventy-five- or hundred-grand job. And not only that, we put a lot of heat on ourselves.” I said, “I’m going to give you half the money I got left. You go your way and I’ll go mine.”

I moved to an apartment in East New York, not far from where Wilson was living. 伊根(Eagen) went back to New York, and a few weeks later I picked up a newspaper and saw that he had been killed in Porky Murray’s speak-easy just off Times Square. He and the hijacker’s wife plus a bartender who had kept the joint open late for the wrong guy.
According to the papers, the prime suspect was the guy he had broken out of Sing Sing with, Willie Sutton.

Despite the confidence I had in my disguise, I made plans to take up residence in Philadelphia, a town which had proved to be quite hospitable by that time. And to take my new girl friend, Olga Kowalska, with me. I had met Olga within a week after my rendezvous with Louise, when I dropped into Roseland to look the crop over and saw this innocent-looking girl dancing with a good-looking young pimp who worked the dance halls to get his hands on stage-struck kids from the sticks by pretending he knew a producer who was casting for a new show. The last thing I needed was to get in any kind of a brawl, but I cut in anyway and took her away from him. And she wasn’t even my type. I always liked them kind of dainty, and while Olga wasn’t exactly raw-boned, she came from Russian stock and had those squared-off peasant features.

She was a singer, and not a bad one. She sang folk songs in a very wistful, appealing voice. But, like so many others, New York wasn’t quite ready for her talents.

She was only about eighteen, and so naïve that she had come to New York from a little steel-mill town below Pittsburgh with hardly any money. She was so gullible that right after I had warned her not to believe what any of these sharpies who picked her up in a dance hall told her, I told her that I was a gambler and real-estate speculator with show-business connections, and she believed me. Everything I ever told her, she believed.

I took her home for a one-night stand, and she was such a sweet, defenseless girl that I became very fond of her. I liked her so much that I persuaded Herman Stark, the manager of Owney Madden’s Cotton Club, to let her sing a few of her folk songs. For her opening night, I bought her a glittering evening gown and sent her to a beauty salon. Herman didn’t suggest that she become a permanent feature. No agents came knocking at her door. She didn’t seem to care. She was the least demanding woman I ever met in my life.

On the day we were going to leave for Philadelphia, I decided to go to Joe’s Restaurant in Brooklyn, a very well-known place on Montague Street not far from the courthouse. When you’re a fugitive you develop such keen antennae that you become aware, automatically, when somebody’s eyes settle on you overlong. While I was sitting there having breakfast, I suddenly knew that somebody was trying to make me. In due time, I let my own eyes drift across the room and saw that it was Johnny McGovern, Tommy’s brother. The detective. I had practically grown up in the McGovern home. Johnny had been almost as good a friend of mine as Tommy. It had been years since Johnny had seen me, though, and as heavily disguised as I was I didn’t really think he could make me unless I got up and gave something away by my gait and bearing. I shouldn’t have been all that confident.In very short order, Johnny walked over to the table and sat down. “Hello, Willie,” he said. “What the hell are you doing here? Every cop in town is looking for you.”
“What are you doing here, John?” I asked politely.

He was appearing in court. “We got a couple of robbers coming up. They robbed a warehouse and wounded my partner. So they offered us five thousand dollars not to identify them.”
I said: “Are you on the make, John?”
“You know I’m not on the make,” he bristled. “If I wanted to make money I’d be out robbing banks, like you.”
I was very happy to hear that. But I still wasn’t sure whether he was going to take me in. So I asked him, “Do the police think I killed this 伊根(Eagen)?”

“Oh hell. Frankie Phillips knows you since you were a kid. Anytime there’s any violence on a crime, he rules you out immediately. Inspector Sullivan too. They know you didn’t do that.” The way he heard it, they didn’t have very many clues but he thought there was a good chance they’d be picking up somebody very shortly.

So I said, “Well, John, if you’re seen talking to me you’re liable to get your walking papers from the police.”
He was leaving anyway, he said. He had to go to court.

We walked out of the restaurant together, and the last thing he said to me was, “You better get the hell out of town as fast as you can.”
“I think you may have something there,” I said, and we were on our way to Philadelphia that same afternoon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48