A Rare but Enchanting Snowy Day in London / 罕见却迷人的伦敦大雪天

in #cn6 years ago (edited)

29.jpg


This morning, I woke up with a surprise! Looking out from my bedroom window, almost everything outside was covered in a sheet of white!! Apparently, our whole city was blanketed by heavy snow overnight. What an incredible view! I mean, we've had snow in the past in London but nothing that lasted more than a day. No, this time, it's the real deal. the people of London are going crazy. Some with joy, others with frustration, lol! As getting around town is proving more difficult that usual for them.

I found it a quite amusing as I've always wanted to witness a "White Christmas" and now got more than I had originally bargained for, except it's occurring just before March, haha!

Though for most, it was business as usual here, despite the sub-zero temperatures. As soon as I got out the house, the wind and snow hit my face full on and within minutes, I could almost not feel my hands anymore! It was actually -3C but felt more like -8C, no joke! The "chill" in the air seems to get right down to your bones! Though because of the rarity of this type of weather, I was still astonished by the beauty such extreme conditions bring. This is, by far, the largest snowfall I have ever seen since living in London!

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

line 3.png

There's something about the vast carpet of snow that just makes winter feel that "extra" special. I was super excited so decided to take an extended lunch break. I opted for a relaxing stroll over to nearby Queen’s Park to enjoy more of the amazing views and extraordinary elegance, literally everywhere I looked!

10.jpg

11.jpg


I got lucky, as come noon the wintry weather had stopped and we enjoyed a brief period of brilliant sunshine instead! The park was fully covered with white snow, with even the bare branches filled with thick layers of the stuff So pretty! It felt like stepping into a fairy tale kingdom just like the movie, Frozen! The snow continued to fall slowly. If you looked close enough, you'd see so many different sizes and shapes of snowflakes, each one being completely unique from all the rest. Incredible indeed! I stood there for a moment, feeling the calm and tranquility of my surroundings!

The view in the park was stunning. Here I am sharing with some of my captures with you:

20.jpg

21.jpg

23.jpg

25.jpg

27.jpg

29.jpg

29-0.jpg

29-1.jpg

29-2.jpg

30.jpg

31.jpg

32.jpg

32-2.jpg

34.jpg

35.jpg


While some people may grumble at these cold and snowy weather conditions, others took the opportunity to have a bit of fun, haha! Like a spot of "tobogganing" maybe?

43.jpg

45.jpg

45-1.jpg

41.jpg

(Look what I've got, lol)

A lovely little snapshot of rare beauty in the city I absolutely adore. London has never looked so enchanting!


今晨醒来,咋眼发现窗外一片白茫茫,伦敦又下雪啦!整个城市一夜之间被厚厚的雪覆盖着,真是令人难以置信。

老实说,在刚过去这个圣诞节,大家都蛮期待白色圣诞节,谁料到它会姗姗来迟,在初春的二月份才出现,哈哈!

尽管温度低于零度,我们还是要照常上班。 当我走出家门时,寒风凛冽直冲着我的脸,几分钟不到,我就冷得感觉不到我的双手! 这才是零下三度,我怎么感觉像零下八度一样冷,还真不是开玩笑! 至今我还很震撼,这可是伦敦最大的一场降雪哦!

可能是从小在南方生活的原因,下雪的冬天总让我感觉非常特别和兴奋。所以我趁着午休时间到附近的皇后公园欣赏雪景去了,呵呵!

我还算很幸运的。到了中午时分,寒风稍微停了下来,和煦的阳光照射下让我感觉没那么冷。公园里白茫茫的一片,就连光秃秃的树枝上也积满了厚厚的积雪,一棵棵耸立在雪地里,美极了!放眼望去,我仿如走进了一个童话般晶莹透剔的冰雪王国!漫天的雪花纷飞,只要你仔细观察,就会发现有许多大大小小,形状不一的雪花!我静静地站了一会儿,感觉整个世界都非常平静安详!

在这里我和大家分享一下我拍的雪景,希望你们喜欢。

不单止是我,很多小孩子对下雪也是无比兴奋的哦!大家看看就知道了。

我从来没有见过伦敦这么迷人过,发现自己越来越喜欢这座城市了!

Wen-Logo-final.jpg

Sort:  

What a wonderful pictures.
thanks for sharing them.
have fun and be safe.

Thank you @pouchon. :)

Woah! My wife's parents told me that it snowed there but I didn't know how rare it was. Have fun playing in the snow, @rea :D

Too cold to play outside, lol! I might just enjoy the full heat at home and appreciate the view from my windows!

Sounds like a good night sleep. "Gift" from the Siberian front.

Yup, definitely good sleep for sure, lol.

Freezing here too! Stay warm! Lovely pics as usual!

Thanks @airlea! You too, keep warm!

这几天都被伦敦的雪刷爆朋友圈了,据说伦敦交通都瘫痪了?但一下雪天气就跟着很不错

是啊,我在伦敦生活了十几年,这里很少下雪,即使下也是来去匆匆。所以这个城市根本没有足够的设备应付这样的天气!不过这个周末开始应该会有好转,呵呵。

The snow looks so beautiful! We don’t get that where I live in Australia. It makes the landscape look so peaceful. Makes me want to run into that snow and just start throwing it around 😂

It was indeed very pretty, one of the best views I have seen in London! Thanks @supernovastaffy for your nice comment!

Now I have the urge to go skiing. Never been but I'm sure it'll be fun! Enjoy the views and the snow while it lasts!

温哥华上礼拜也刚下大雪:)

一定很美吧?

as always very good everything that you present in this post

Thank you. :)

my dream is someday to know London and even more in snowy times. Where I am from, there is no such wonder of nature @rea

A snowfall in London is definitely a special occasion and one of fun it look like. We had a surprise snowfall here in Vancouver a few days back. It was wonderful, sledding and snowshoeing in Stanley park. Your photos were so bright and beautiful:)

That sounds like a lot of fun, lol. Thank you for dropping by @prydefoltz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38