You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hypocrisy around the Chinese Dog Festival!

in #cn8 years ago

Personally for me its barbaric to eat dog or cat for that matter, but thats because i live in a western society that doesnt do this; it is however more acceptable globally, to rear and slaughter 'farm animals' for food even if in some parts of the world ( small part) the cow is considered sacred. Man has since farming became into exitance reared these type of animals for food, but for most of the world, the eating of dog would be considered unacceptable and I guess this is why there is an outrage each year at the Yulin festival - is this the only country that does this?? - Vegan, Vegetarian or meat eater, I believe the vast majority of people in the world would agree this is not really acceptable, but thats my own personal opinion.

Sort:  

@ladypenelope1 I agree it's not acceptable to the western society and most of the east as well, my concern is that do people who eat the so called farm animals are on a moral high ground to protest this. And if they do, would they be open to criticism on eating beef?

Yes they do have the moral high ground to critisise this because they will say that its more acceptable to eat 'farm animals' as that is what they are essentially breed for - dog/cats on the other hand are seen as Pets to the vast majority of the worlds population . Would they be open to crititism, they probably already are by those who are vegetarians and vegans - again this is an accepted arguement that has been around since vegatarinism/veganisim came to the forefront in modern society . What I believe most people would argue against, meat eaters included, is that eating dogs is not really a something you find in your average supermarket, but you would most farm animals, and sadly horse, kangaroo, venison . These additional 'meats' are acceptable ( not to me personally) but to most societies East or West, but dog - no! - this gives a whole new meaning to "CHOW-MAIN" ( Sorry couldn't resist ...) I'm sure its a debate that can go around for many hours. I respect your post and what you are saying .

The whole idea of the post is to get the contrasting views, so if I counter your arguments, please don't feel I am not doing it as an offence, but only to take the discussion further. If they argue that the farm are bred for being eaten, but then so are the dogs in Yulin. Now I am sounding like a supporter of dog killers, which I am not. I took this issue because I wanted to explore how people can be baised about their judgement of others. But I guess I have taken a bow to fire my arrow.

I am not offended at all, I totally understood what you are doing and applaud you for broaching an emotive issue. I am a huge dog lover so for me its something I couldn't possible support in anyway, also I dont really eat red meat much, mainly fish and chicken. But I hope your post produces some for and against for you and thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56