You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Language Culture for Singapore| 新加坡的語言文化 (HK-JP-SG experimental cross-community cultural challenge |香港日本新加坡三地跨社區實驗性文化挑戰)

in #cn6 years ago

I learnt my (mostly broken) cantonese from HK dramas too. That is why I could understand cantonese but not speak well. But even those days, in the 80s, Singapore had already stopped broadcasting cantonese dramas. We had to tuned into Malaysia tv channels for them.
Here in Singapore, dialects like teochew and cantonese will likely go extinct in the next few generations. Even chinese/mandarin is fast becoming a hated language among young children. There are even talks about omitting Chinese language from the core syllabus from major exams.

Sort:  

Hah, I also just realized how important is the role of Cantonese drama when I heard the story from my colleague. I thought should be some society reason for the government forcing people to speak mandarin, maybe they want to united language or for a easier ruling. But I do hope you guys can keep those language, as just like what I said, you guys are just genius in learning language, don't waste it!

Singapore and Malaysia may be more diverse and more willing to accept multi-cultural things.

Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65786.95
ETH 3001.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72