Learn Chinese With Cryptogee - Where Am I? - 用Cryptogee学习中文 - 我在哪里?

in #cn7 years ago (edited)

download (1).png

My journey with Mandarin continues. Earlier tonight I was practising my Mandarin at @bleepcoin's place, so I decided to make another Chinese language video for you. As ever, if you're a Chinese speaker let me know if I'm making any mistakes or where you feel my pronounciation could be better.

Even if you don't speak Chinese, I'd still like to hear from you, especially if you're interested in language in general!

Enjoy!

Cg

Sort:  

I can understand, Where r u now?, I am in airport and I am in office, by your chinese, lol.

I can see you getting better, good job.

Awesome! Thank you so much for your feedback, it gives me encouragement to carry on :-D

Cg

Awesome that's great news! It is so new for me, that I can never be sure if my pronunciation is any good. Thank you for your kind words, they give me confidence to try even harder! :-)

Cg

Well, you do have some room to improve, but it is understandable already, lol. You can watch some Chinese movies, there you will learn faster, and more fun.

Yes thank you, I have lots of room to improve! :-) I will start looking for some Chinese movies.

As a child I grew up watching a lot of Hong Kong Cantonese films, now I must find Mandarin ones.

The film Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon (卧虎藏龙 ) is what made me fall in love with the Mandarin language :-)

Cg

Watching drama/movie is indeed a good way to learn another language. :)

I need to learn Mandarin!

You should! It's hard, but fun :-)

Cg

Pretty distinct "westerner" accent for most of the words (not that my Mandarin accent is much better!), but it was definitely understandable! I'm sure most Chinese people would be impressed!

How long have you been learning for? 😊

Haha, I have to work on that, I really want a Beijing accent :-) I'm glad it's understandable, I will start to tackle longer sentences very soon.

I've been learning for a few months now, I use an app on my phone called Hello Chinese. It's really good and it makes learning pretty fun :-)

Cg

Yes you will definitely be able to master the native accent in time, luckily Mandarin is a lot easier to pronounce properly for the Western tongue than Cantonese (which is what I grew up learning).

I will defintely check that app out, might be handy in teaching my kids Chinese :)

Aha! That explains why on one of my posts all the Mandarin speakers said; yes they can understand me. But all the Cantonese speakers said they had trouble with a lot of my phrases.

So you grew up learning Cantonese; when did you learn Mandarin?

Please do check out the app it's excellent, and made by Chinese people, plus it has lots of in-app resources that I haven't even begun to scratch the surface of.

My 7 year old daughter uses it with me sometimes and she loves it, especially the parts where you speak into the mic :-)

Thanks for your comments and feedback, I truly value them.

Cg

Oh which post is that? If you don't mind linking me to it :)

I was born and raised in Hong Kong, so I learnt Cantonese Chinese there until I moved to the UK when I was 15. Learning Mandarin was only compulsory up until a certain age group back then, so I learnt it for a bit (I'm sure it's not as relaxed anymore nowadays though).

It's really peculiar but usually Cantonese speakrs can pretty much guess how the same character would be pronounced in Mandarin, by "tilting" the tone a bit (literally the best way I can describe it). I'll try and do a post about this one day to demonstrate it. The Chinese language is so complex and interesting, there are so many aspects that I'd love to do posts about. Like this tongue twister prose that I love: https://www.yellowbridge.com/onlinelit/stonelion.php You should try it out 😆

And thanks, my eldest is 6, and it sounds like something she'd love too! I'm going to get the app now :)

Always happy to give value if and when I can. Glad to have found you on Steemit!

Cool, this is the post in question https://steemit.com/learnchinese/@cryptogee/can-chinese-people-understand-me-learn-mandarin-with-cryptogee-restaurants

That's very interesting about Cantonese; I actually thought it was the other way round that Mandarin speakers found it easy to switch. Although it makes sense because Mandarin is more widely spoken (I think.)

My word those tongue twisters! I was just the other day telling my wife that the sound shi seemed to be everywhere in Chinese. I really want to hear those phrases being said; you must put them in your video if you do one!

I'm very glad we found each other on Steemit as well! Steem on! :-D

Cg

That was a cool vid, it was pretty funny, but really just great that you are so eager to learn the language! And your daughter is so so sweet :)

I will try my best and get a video of that tongue twister at some point, I won't be able to pronounce it properly myself, but it will be at least be one hilarious video to make!

It will helpful for them who want to learn Chinese
Nice

Good job, just carry on! I'm a Chinese and I'm learning english now!

Thank you! You can practice your English with me and I can practice my Chinese with you!

Although it sounds like your English is better than my Chinese :-)

Cg

Good job! office sounds good, but airport sounds a little confusing. u can begin with a easy chinese-learning textbook, for the words they choose is step by step.

Thank you for your feedback! It is good to know, because I thought it was the other way round, that airport was good, office not so good :-)

I am using an app called Hello Chinese, it is good, but I can't wait to grow out of it and start speaking for real :-)

Thank you again, and please come back for more! :-D

Cg

Hi! Cool! Basically, I can understand your Mandarin, just need a little tuning in the pronunciation. There are four tones in Mandarin.

Thank you so much for your feedback! It really is greatly appreciated :-) With the words I used which are the ones you think need the most work?

The app I'm using is so comprehensive, I'm sure they talk about the four tones, I need to learn these before moving forward, this week I'm going to start to tackle longer sentences :-)

Cg

at - 在 - the pinyin is zai (forth tone).
airport - 机场 - the pinyin is ji (first tone) chang (third tone)
office - 办公室 - the pinyin is ban (forth tone) gong (first tone) shi (forth tone)

Thank you, that is very helpful, I need to mould my tongue to these new tones :-)

Cg

You are most welcome!
Happy Learning!

Thank you, I shall start learning about the four tones so that I can get my pronunciation better :-)

Cg

hi @cryptogee. I am a native speaker. You speak quite well and it is understandable. You can try this trick. The end of the words you can try to drag it a bit longer. But if you learn the four intonation for each sound, you will get very accurate variation in tone that will make the difference in almost similar sounding words. Example : Mother 妈 and horse 馬 they both uses the same pronunciation (ma) but with different tone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60026.85
ETH 3332.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41