You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing My New Project To Translate Wonderful Posts Into Chinese - Let's Increase The Chinese User Base On Steemit!

in #cn8 years ago

Great initiative! But "interesting" content is subjective.
Just a suggestion: why not distribute SD to the original author from your translated post especially if the original author did not get enough upvotes in the first place? Original authors gets more credit, i suppose? Just like how harry potter book series are translated into many languages and J. K. Rowling still gets some credit as original author?

Sort:  

I gave her permission to reuse my article, so really I shouldn't expect any rewards for it. After all, she was the one who translated it and got the publicity, not me.

But I would obviously love to see me getting some reward as well especially since the original article got around half of what this article got. I guess this incentivizes more quality content, as not only you are getting promoted as an author, you are also getting some tangible rewards. Pretty sure @jacor and some others are doing this except in English.

I am in full support of this initiative, since it will get some more content for Chinese people to look at.

It's up to her to decide whether she wants to give me the SBD and keep the SP - or not. I don't mind either way, just asserting my opinion.

Thanks for your input @coinbitgold! I have mentioned this with other authors that gave me permission to use their content and asked about sharing rewards : This is a pilot project so I did not know how successful it would be and if the rewards that I received would even be enough to cover the cost of my translation time, formatting the posts time, finding great posts, and reaching out to everyone. I mentioned to these authors that I was still working out whether or not there would be enough rewards to share with the authors and was still figuring out how much I would share and how. I'm not doing this to get large rewards - I am doing this to create a bridge between the Chinese and English speakers on Steemit. However, I do also need to cover my costs of all the time it takes to coordinate and create this project and these posts.
In terms of interesting content, I agree with you, it is completely subjective! :-) I am basically curating on a couple points: 1) if it will appeal to the Chinese reader userbase (such as @jholdsworthy's wonderful post). 2) if it is a wonderfully original piece on Steemit that could use some more spotlight .
Back to curation rewards : I do not expect the rewards for upcoming posts to be as large as this one, as this post also acted as my "announcement of new project post". However, I do want to provide rewards to the wonderful original authors. So, I will provide the authors 25% of SD made on my posts. However, it will not be on a post by post basis. I will pool 25% of all the SD that I make on all of my Chinese translation posts over the course of two weeks and then evenly distribute it to all of the original authors. I am doing this because I occasionally get whale votes that skyrockets one of my post rewards, however I think that all of the posts that I am translating are equally wonderful and deserve an equal payout.

anwenbaumeister, this is a fantastic idea and I support you wholeheartedly in initiating this project. I am deeply honoured that you would like to translate one of my posts, and really looking forward to seeing what my words look like in Chinese! The last paragraph you wrote on the comment above is exactly the kind of attitude I resonate with, and I applaud you for it :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40