Will Steemit overtake facebook in the future? Steemit會取代Facebook成為主流社交平台嗎?新手使用感想及發展建議

in #cn7 years ago (edited)

我是一個加入Steemit 三個星期的新手,在出了一篇100+ followers的感謝文後,我在沒有出新文章的情況下,追蹤者又靜悄悄地升至將近150了。一方面感謝各位追蹤我,但在沒有出文章的情況下出現追蹤者的增長,似乎說不過去。所以在臨近150追蹤者前,我希望跟大家分享一下自己使用Steemit這三個星期的體驗和感想,並對Steemit的未來發展發表一下愚見。

I am a newbie on Steemit for just 3 weeks ago. Interestingly, I saw the growth of my followers from 100+ to nearly 150 without a new post after the thank you post for 100+ followers. I'm appreciated to all of you who are following me, but I think it is quite strange if I post a 150+ followers thank you post without any new post after the 100+ followers thank you post. Therefore, I would like to share my view of the user experience and the future development on Steemit before I write a 150+ followers thank you post.


2f14cfbb-95cb-4d8e-af7c-6c039ccfaca6.png

我是一個對科技有興趣的人,自2015年開始認識比特幣,當時已對區塊鏈技術感到興趣,並相信區塊鏈終有一天會成就大事,為世界帶來許革命性的影響。所以,當我一聽到有一個社交平台Steemit,以區塊鏈為技術支持,讓用家能透過分享文章,賺取Steem幣,我覺得很有意思!二話不說便走去註冊申請帳戶了。

I am a lover of technologies. I was interested in the Blockchain technology since 2015 when I first acknowledged Bitcoin. I believed that the Blockchain technology would make revolutionary impacts to the world. Therefore, when I heard that there is a social network platform - Steemit, supported by Blockchain technology, letting people to earn cyptocurrency (Steem) by sharing their posts, I was so excited to register an account.

由於Steemit的概念對我來說很新,所以我去Google搜尋關於Steemit的資料。有趣的是,我搜到一堆文章對Steemit的前景感到非常樂觀,甚至不少文章指它將會取代Facebook成為最大的社交平台。這引起我對Steemit有更大的興趣,希望能了解這個新平台的運作模式和生態環境。

In truth, the concept of Steemit is very new to me, so I had Google search to look for the information of Steemit. Interestingly, I find there are many passages showed the optimistic views on Steemit. Some of them even predicted that it will overtake Facebook to be the most popular social network platform. It made me even more interested on Steemit. I wanted to understand the operation model and the ecological environment of it.


87ed946e-c4fe-4444-8edb-ac731fe63adb.png
我是第188061個Steemit用家,意味全球用這平台的人仍在少數
I am the 188061th user of Steemit, which means Steemit users is still a minority in nowadays


另一邊箱,Facebook 數天前才剛突破了二十億用戶,佔全球近三份一人口。
From another stance, Facebook now has two billion monthly users in just few days ago.
https://www.recode.net/2017/6/27/15880734/facebook-mark-zuckerberg-two-billion-monthly-users


現時全球只有二十多萬人在用Steemit,與Facebook的20億用戶相去甚遠,存在著一萬倍的差距。既然這樣,Steemit憑什麼能取代Facebook? 樂觀的聲音很多,我也不打算重覆。我希望從這三個星期使用Steemit的使用體驗,理性地評價一下現時的Steemit,並分享一下它改善空間。

So how come people are so optimistic that Steemit will overtake Facebook while there is a ten thousand times of users gap? So much voices of optimism from many Steemian, I am not going to repeat. I wish to share what I feel in this 3 weeks of user experience on Steemit, and give a rational comment on it, and certainly, my wish list for future development.

1. 不明術語
作為一個Facebook的用家,所有選項字眼都淺白易懂,例如 "讚好"、"分享"、"留言"。初進入Steemit世界,我對一堆文字感到困擾,例如 "upvote", "resteem", "voting power", "SBD", "SP", 而獎賞又有分為"curation rewards" 和 "author rewards", 這堆術語,每一個都要花時間去學習才能明白。這對新玩家而言並不友善。試想想,這麼多艱深的槪念,開放如我也感到困難的時候,它能令一個小孩和老人家去註冊使用嗎?

1. Difficult new terms
As a Facebook user, I found everything are easy to understand and you may know how to use it without anyone teaching you. Such as "Like", "Share", "Inbox", all the things are simple. However, when I get into the world of Steemit, I felt frustrated for a lot of "new terms" such as "upvote", "resteem", "voting power", "SBD", "SP"...even the rewards for users is also differentiated by "Curation rewards" and "Author rewards". I spent a lot of time to study each "new terms". Up till now, I feel that I'm still a newbie which lots of unknowns on this platform. Indeed, it is not friendly for new users. Imagine that if there is still a barrier for an open-minded user like me to learn how to use it, how can it attract children and elderly to use?


32eb4101-dfaf-43e7-9979-3bbbec21b116.png
文字編輯需借助其他網站
No editing functions on Steemit so that we need to do it on another website

2. 編輯不友善
作為一個文章的分享平台,文字編輯排版的功能非常重要。可是,現時的Steemit 連最基本的文字編輯功能,如粗體、斜體、置中、文字大小、分段功能、插入超連結、更改圖片大小等,統統沒有。我們需要像以前寫html網頁般輸入特定的code以達到既定目的,或借助其他網頁,如 https://stackedit.io/editor# ,提供有限的文字編輯功能。這對用戶來說並不友善。有多少人願意花額外精神和心力去令文章效果變得更美觀?

2. Difficult in editing
As a social network sharing platform, it is essential to provide easy editing functions such as Bold, Italic, Center, font size, paragraph, hyperlinks, photo size etc. However on Steemit, none! zero! We need to write a post by using html coding in order to get the wanted effect, or do it on other website such like https://stackedit.io/editor#. It is totally not user friendly. How many people willing to use extra time and effort on making good effects of their posts?

3. 沒有群組功能
在Facebook,你能輕易建立不同的群組,讓各樣不同興趣的人能加入,彼此分享。但在Steemit,這功能欠奉。意味著,你只能以個人形式去看其他人的文章,再判斷是否追蹤他,以建立自己的網絡。但作為社交平台,群組功能是不能被取代的,所以Steemit未來發展的確不能忽視這一點。

3. No group function
On Facebook, people can easily search and join different groups base on their interest. But sadly, this function is absent on Steemit. It means, you can only build your followers network or make friends by searching and commenting their posts. However, as a social network platform, this is a function cannot be ignored. Hopefully we can see this function in the future development.

4. 沒有影片功能
影片分享在社交平台猶為重要。在Facebook, 你能輕鬆地上載一段影片,甚至分享一段youtube片段。但在Steemit,你不能夠。你只能在Steemit透過一些不方便的方法去分享youtube片段。這功能需要大大加強。

4. No video insert function
Video sharing function is essential on social network platform in nowadays. You can easily upload and share a video clip on Facebook. However on Steemit, you cannot. You can only share a youtube video in a complicated way. Hope there will be an improvement on it.

5. 分享單向化,不能隨心所欲
在Facebook, 你能隨心所欲,想說什麼就說什麼,簡單一句也可以。你甚至可以進行視像直播,與全世界分享你的事情。但在Steemit這個平台上,你做不到多元化的分享,你只能單調地分享文章。可是,人是喜歡多元的。單靠文字分享的社交平台,其發展並不理想,不利吸納不同的群眾。

5. Monotonous sharing model
On Facebook, you can share what you want. People can interact with others by just saying "Good morning" on their personal page. They can also provide a live video by using Facebook Live. It allows people to share in diversity with different medias. However on Steemit, people are not available to share their thoughts in such different ways. It is not good for attracting different types of people to be Steemians.

6. 沒有隱私
在Facebook, 你能設定什麼人能看到你的什麼內容,但Steemit不能。這會令很多人卻步,也不敢分享他們真實的內心世界。作為一個社交平台,隱私功能是不能缺少的。

6. No privacy
You can have privacy setting on Facebook to determine which one can see what level of content you shared. However on Steemit, you cannot. It would make people hesitate to share their true self. As a social network platform, I think a privacy setting function cannot be missed.

我的評價:長路漫漫

誠實地說,如果沒有了Steem幣的獎賞機制,我相信是沒有人會願意使用Steemit進行社交分享的。要取代Facebook,仍有很遠的路要走。但Steemit仍只是Beta階段,以現時的Steemit與Facebook比較,並不公道。我樂見未來日子,Steemit能大大改善,提升用戶使用體驗,吸引更多人進成為Steemian!

My comment: Still a long way to go

To be honest, I think no one would use Steemit as their social sharing platform without it's reward system. It is still far far away for Steemit to overtake Facebook. However, it is not fair to compare them in this moment because Steemit is still only in Beta stage. I would be happy to see a huge improvement on user experience design on Steemit, so that more and more people choose to be a Steemian! I wish Steemit a great success in the future! STEEM ON!

Follow me

如你從我的文章當中感到共鳴,請追蹤我!
若你喜愛香港、熱愛自由、相信民主價值,請追蹤我,交個朋友!
當然,如果你對我寫的科技文章有興趣,也請追蹤我!

If you have resonance to my posts, please follow me!
If you love Hong Kong, believe in freedom and democracy, follow me and be my friend!
Of course, if you are interested in my posts of technologies, please follow me!

Sort:  

Maybe not, but steemit definetely will be one of the bests.

Thank you! 我作為香港人,也作為新手加入Steemit,跟你很有同感!現在還在理解 Steemit,他日開始寫 post 定必和 chris 你交流!請多多指教!

Steemit will destroy Facebook , steemit is a new generation of social networking
it has a great potential and amazing community and a powerful currency
so i thnik steemit will be the first social network in the world

和fb作比较显得有点太合理,也没必要取代。
自己有自己服务的用户,但是从另外一个角度来看,很多人用了steemit之后,脸书都懒得更新了。这不能不说是一个某种意义上的成功。
也许未来有更多类似产品,但肯定有steemit一席之地

Nice comment, nice reasons that you have mentioned, such changes have to made, and steemit will definitely grow as a large social network because the most unique concept they have launched, the steem crypto currency will also grow based on this new concept
follow me also

Consider how old is Steemit and how old is FB, then the sizes of user base seems to be reasonable

Your point has already been mentioned in my post

We need more/better marketing for that to happen.

Congratulations @chris77d! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes I can agree on many of your points. This website still needs a lot of work. While of course at the same time being careful not to simply be facebook light. I think it will succeed.

good sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25