You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Better You #1 - 做一个更好的自己1

in #cn7 years ago

Loved the poem!

And the overall message is nice, but I worry that taken to extremes, it could do harm as well!

Cos sometimes, comparing ourselves to others is good. We learn by example. We learn when we compare someone's good behavior to our own bad behavior, and the effects each brings.

And sometimes it's good to notice when other people are way better off: cos maybe they don't deserve it. Maybe there's injustice going on. We don't want this 'don't compare yourself to others' injunction to lead to passivity against the injustices of the world. 'Envy' and 'depression' can often be an agent of change.

P.S. For some reason I loved the bilingual aspect of your post, and I don't even know Chinese! :P

P.S.2 : Your daughter looks like she wants to kick my ass!

Sort:  

lol. Yes totally agree with you. like I mentioned in another comment , my Chinese translation of this is probably more accurate. I was referring to am type of unhealthy and negative comparing. I agree some types of comparing for self betterment is necessary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68