Comma Butterfly : 14 October 2022

in #club50502 years ago

We are in autumn here so we are grateful when we see a bit of sun. That must also be the case for other animals and insects like this beautiful butterfly I saw sunning itself to warm up - that’s what I think it was doing. Have a look :


image.png

I managed to get that close to the butterfly to take the photo. Despite the quality you can see quite clearly the shape of the wings : not smooth but quite rough around the edges. It is a comma butterfly ! I like the name of this butterfly full stop (that is a bad joke, sorry). The Latin name of this butterfly is also very impressive, Polygonia c-album.

You can have a look at the original photo I took from a distance below. The butterfly stood out against the woody background of that fence. After taking that first photo I walked slowly towards it but unfortunately it was not a good day to get a close up. I have nonetheless included both photos to hopefully give you an idea of much this bright insect stood out.


image.png

This website tells me what I already guessed : stinging nettle is the favourite food of this butterfly. I was warmly surprised by the revelation that they hibernate in woodland. I did not think they could survive the damp and cold, but apparently they do.

The species loves to bask

I used the ‘lens’ app of the phone to confirm the name of the butterfly. It had no problems finding it as it is now a common sight and, in fact, the article I linked above says that due to global warming this butterfly species has been able to expand its habitat to other parts of the country.

Thank you for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68872.12
ETH 2524.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53