Saturday's endorphins: an uplifting experience on some slab

in #climbing7 years ago

IMG_20170902_133347.jpg

Sometimes a girl has just got to get away from the studio or the desk and get out there. Here's a glimpse of a few moments this past weekend spent hanging on some rock. It's amazing how something so demanding can have such a relaxing effect. I always come come sore and tired, but regretting that I don't go more often.

IMG_20170902_132348.jpgIMG_20170902_133954.jpg

This arete was a lot of fun to play on with some challenging technical moments.
Enjoy!

Sort:  

That looks like so much fun.

Yes indeed! Thanks for checking it out!

Great weekend! That's how people should spend their free time from work! Fresh air, excellent physical shape and hobby, requiring great dedication to passion! What could be more beautiful? Only competitive element! It makes you give your best!
The name is perfect for the post! No stimulants, only a natural release of the hormone of happiness and super emotion!
Never stop!

Exactly! You've nailed it. Nice to be able to share about such a passion. The crowd that I climb with are mostly crazy addicted beasts. They have been going every weekend during the summer. Now that the weather will be changing, I hope I still can get out before our fingers freeze totally. Not that this stops some people! For me, I have enough competition already in my other work. I am happy to compete against myself and the elements when it comes to climbing, though I admit that my climbing friends are very persistent about being challenged hard. Do you compete?

Our life is always one big competition. If you certainly want to live better today than yesterday.
No, I do not compete in climbing. Not yet, at least ...

"Above the mountains, there can only be mountains on which you have not yet been."
Words from the song of my favorite poet V.S. Vysotsky.

This is a completely beautiful quote.

way to go - i used to be a climber too , keep it up and be safe

wow, amazing you must be very strong! I love seeing these photos, it's the closest we can be to the experience.

Thanks! It's certainly a good work out and I love being out there. And sharing it!

You are so brave and strong!! Wonderful photos, too @stonemaiden. Upvoted and resteemed your great post.

Thank you so much!

Looks like a cool place to hang out. =)
Do you have to travel far to reach it?
It must be a popular spot since the routes are bolted.

It's awesome. From where I live there are quite a lot of great spots within a range of about 2 hours driving. Not high elevation, but interesting walls with plenty of bolted routes at different skill levels. These pictures are 10 minutes down the trail from a very large wall loaded with routes. And facing south...

That sounds like a fantastic bit of nature. =)

In my home town, Brisbane, Australia, in the center of the very city, Kangaroo Point, we have 25m high hard volcanic rock walls from an old quarry, with bolted and unbolted routes. The city also provides lighting up until midnight. It is open, public, mean free! =)

This is where I learnt to climb.

Lit up til midnight? Now that's something I have not tried! That changes the whole experience. I imagine it's quite a busy spot. Especially with free access.

There are extremely popular routes of course, but there are plenty of others to choose from. Night climbing is kind of necessary in Summer, because by the afternoon, with full sun, the rocks are too hot to touch.

Wow, of course the heat would be an issue. It's one extreme or the other. Freezing fingers or burning. So rare that it's perfect.

Oh that looks like good fun. I'm plotting routes already...

Ingenious, love all kinds of climbing

Fabulous! Thanks for checking in here and connecting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58