You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zero-Drop and You: What Do Minimal Running Shoes Really Offer?

in #climbing6 years ago (edited)

Good write-up again, dude! I have a pretty similar history with running shoes and training for running. It was probably 2011 when I started running "seriously" for the first time. I had a pair of traditional runners, and a pair of Vibram 5-Fingers (or whatever they're called.. I call them finger-shoes). Doing some short distance runs in the Vibrams forced me to learn how to run on the fore of my foot, because it felt like I would break my heels if I continued to land on the back of my foot and roll through.

My running started to rapidly improve once my cardio was no longer and issue. I never really changed after switching up to a fore-foot strike, and 3-Marathons, 5-Halfies, and a small handful of 10km races down, I haven't looked back.

That being said -- other than shorter runs (<5km distance), I currently only use my Asics. A few years back, I tried training for a marathon in some zero-drop, minimal, New Balance shoes, and the joint stresses blew my hip out, and I had to take the better part of 4 months off of running entirely.

I still don't know if it was the style of shoe, or a combination of many factors, but I'm still running on the forefoot in my Asics, and doing fine.

Sort:  

Thanks! Damn! You're certainly more experienced than I but I am since my running history is simply recreational medium distances. I am intrigued that you've had a similar experience! I actually just got some Asics Gel Lyte III and they're pretty superb. I'm happy you found a pair that works for you too. Shoes are so underrated and the newness of some of these shoes doesn't justify their function in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65