Red Rock - Olive Oil 5.7

in #climbing6 years ago

IMG_20180128_111457_655.jpg
Looking down from the top of the 4th pitch of Olive Oil. This pitch was not difficult, but very run out. The first time I climbed this route my rope got caught in a flake near the 3rd pitch belay causing severe rope drag. If there were a place to make an anchor and split the pitch up I would have done it, but I never really found anything I trusted enough. I ended up climbing about 15 feet too far left and missed the big belay ledge. I found a small pocket that would only take about half a red alien and then attempted the thin traverse. The rope pulled me back the entire time and I had come to terms I would likely be pulled off before I reached the ledge, but as it often turns out in climbing all the holds I needed were there and I was able to finish the pitch. Olive Oil is by far my favorite climb to date. I'll post more pictures of it soon.

Sort:  

I do not like runouts, especially on trad. My palms are sweating just typing this. Nice job man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68541.87
ETH 3868.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63