Southern Sandstone : Quality Rock Climbing

in #climbing7 years ago

Sometimes I travel to climb boulders. One of my favorite places to go is located in Alabama called HP40 (Horse Pens 40). This is a family owned ranch/boulder field which we are lucky enough to have access to. HP40 has perfect sandstone boulders that are quit difficult to climb no matter what level you are at. The sandstone features create holds that require a lot of tension and friction to make it possible to hold on. Many times it is not necessarily about being incredibly strong, but its about body awareness and technical skills. This place can humble the best climber you know.

I was lucky enough to learn how to outdoor boulder in this magical place. It taught me to try, try again no matter what. You have to be willing to fight for these boulders. Its also one of the most relaxing places to be. Its located in a nice shaded forest hill top. The landings are all basically flat which make them easy to protect and the local climbers are always friendly. Everyone just wants to have a good time and climb on these perfect boulders.

here is a short video of a few great boulders I did last year on a quick trip to the south with friends. Enjoy

Sort:  

Wow! I absolutely love this. I've only been bouldering for a year, and have only done one outdoor bouldering session, so this is very inspiring. Following for more bouldering content!

Sorry for the late response. Glad you've gone out once, but make sure its not your last. The more you go out the better you will get and the more fun and exciting the experience will become :) Keep after it and thanks for following along.

Yo Cesar, I just did you first trade of Steem Dollars for Bitcoin... super easy. I wrote about it in a post just now but I'll have to tell you about it at work on Monday or Tuesday ( :
Make Money Money !!!

PS... have I ever told you the story about when I visited Horsepens 40? OMG hysterical place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48