How Climate Change is affecting me

in #climatechange6 years ago (edited)

When I was a kid, sleeping at night during this time of the year was always funny, or let's say "stressful." We made sure to sleep only on one side of the bed because of cold, if you mistakenly roll to the other side of the bed, you could freeze. I guess that was how I learnt to sleep on one spot without changing my sleeping position. With the doors and windows all shut. With our full kit and blanket to cover us, we still wouldn't change our sleeping positions. That was the impact of Harmattan. My physics teacher once said that what Killed Jack on Titanic wasn't cold but Love. He talked about how by constantly changing your position, you attract new molecules of air that could make you cold and he claimed that Jack wouldn't have died if he had been still in the water. Well, I refuse to believe him on Jack's case. That was his claim. But his theory worked for us when we were little. We slept only on one position to avoid getting cold, because tossing and turning could leave you frozen before dawn. Morning was worse. The weather became a bit friendly from 1pm, but you never leave the house without applying moisturizers to avoid turning white. Harmattan made us look like Ghosts, but we liked It.
We had Harmattan from the Ending of October until the beginning of February. But that's not the case now. Harmattan in this part of Nigeria is seen only in December. I mean it appears for a day or two and disappears. And not with the intensity it came with when I was a kid. It's sad and I blame Global warming for all this. A few days ago, @pmiskeen shared some awesome photos of Fjord in Alaska where he let us know that as a result of the earth being warmer than normal, that the Glacier in that region has gone down tremendously. And with the rate at which It's reducing, it could disappear entirely in years to come. That is really sad to know. There are many other instances. What do we do? How do we curb this? How do we help sustain our environment?

Sort:  

Your post has been discovered by @livesustainably I manage the#livesustainably tag.
@Livesustainably promotes and curates content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably.
At this time, as it is a new tag I am looking in in other channels. In the future you should post with the livesustainably tag so that you can get upvotes and curation from me. To find out more see my introductory post.

Thank you! That's a very nice idea from you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87