"Out of Balance: ExxonMobil's Impact on Climate Change"

in #climatechange7 years ago

In 2006, along with a core team of producers, I directed and co-produced "Out of Balance". I had been following the actions of ExxonMobil since the Exxon Valdez oil spill. I learned something from Exxon's response to that oil spill: A large powerful corporation will do whatever it takes to continue to maximize its profits, and the suffering of people and other life on the planet are nothing more than "externalities" to them. Exxon kept the fishermen who made their livelihood in the Valdez area waiting for compensation for over 20 years by keeping the case in litigation. A few hundred of those fishermen died while waiting to receive compensation from the company.

Twelve years after production of "Out of Balance", ExxonMobil is on the brink of litigation with the SEC, a few state attorneys general, and a number of individual groups. Why? For the same reasons we looked at in "Out of Balance". The film is still as relevant today as it was back then, because so little has genuinely changed in ExxonMobil's approach to responding to anthropogenic climate change. Have a look at "Out of Balance". Sometime early in 2018, "Still Out of Balance" will be released. I'll keep you posted. Peace.

Sort:  

Hi ancora, follow me please and engage with my content! I am starting my blog where I'll post cool articles and information I find on all things crypto related. I believe the only way to thrive in crypto is to stay informed! Join my followers and stay updated! Hopefully, you find my content as a cool way to stay informed on crypto! Let me know what you think about my postings. Upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51