Cliff High SLAMS STEEMIT - Doesn't like it. MUST SEE.

in #cliffhigh7 years ago (edited)

I was kind of shocked at what cliff said about STEEMIT in his June 3rd interview with Greg Hunter. Here is his quote (located at 36.40) in this video.
GREG: Do you like Steemit? Is that just one of many coins? Do you like it?
CLIFF: No I do not. I don't like Steemit and here's why. I mean, I've been on Steem, I've had an account at Steem. Steem as a
Social media is really good. Steem as a coin will persist. It's going to have long legs but it doesn't have real value.
Because, you see the thing is there is no outside steemit community mining. So Steem, you are paid in steem coins
and they say there is a way to get it converted over to bitcoin and actually get value out of it. But I have yet to see
that operate, because I don't see any value going into the steem platform to start with. They don't hold up to a crypto currency.

What are your thoughts? Is Cliff High wrong about this? Does steemit have value? Here is the interview from June 3rd, 2017 Here is the VIDEO -

Sort:  

Caveat -- I'm completely new to Steemit & this is my very first reply.

  1. Like all of Greg Hunter's interviews.

  2. If Clif High (& Jim Willie) started a talk radio network, I would have a paid subscription. Those two guys are entertaining, interesting, and have strong opinions and interesting takes on virtually anything that's put to them.

  3. I have no experience with cryptos or Steemit. Thus, the fact that I came here to support many content creators I enjoy on YouTube, makes me think that Clif was too quick to dismiss this platform. YouTube's recent change in advertising policy has hurt many people who are working to inform & enlightened the public. If these highly popular and now financially challenged YouTubers bring a lot more people like me with them, things could change dramatically. So it seems to me it was a bit premature for Clif to pass judgement on Steemit.

  4. As someone who has no experience with Cryptos, I certainly find it interesting that my first exposure to them is via Steem. Quite frankly, other than a precious metal backed crypto, I would not even consider speculating in them. I'm happy for those who did early on, but for now I'm not willing to jump through all the hoops and part with a lot of cash to do so. Yet in a couple of minutes I got set up on steemit, and suddenly I have a crypto wallet and an interest in Steem -- just because I wanted to support some of my favorite content creators. Especially for them, I hope Clif is wrong on this one, and that Steemit becomes as well known as Twitter, Facebook, etc. Of course that would mean the Steem crypto would be HUGE.

You seem like a smart person. Followed! ;)

Thanks! I hope this platform can obviate Twitter & Facebook, first impression is very positive.

Hmmm, likewise this is also my first exposure to crypto.

Right, Steem has an interesting crypto hook -- 100 years ago it was what traveling salesmen called, "Getting your foot in the door."

I like that!

I think cliff might have been premature in his thoughts about steemit. Who knows what will be the future and how the creators of Steemit will develop it as it grows and more money is invested. Another interesting interviews with Greg and Cliff.

Yep I agree too. Smart people can be wrong!!!

I'm sure he will change his mind in a year or so time...

Great photo. One of my favourite films.

yep -- his Bitcoin work has been well documented...we will see. I always enjoy his comments.

hello friend!
I saw the youtube you posted.
I will share the words of cliff (36, 40, 40)with Koreans like you did.
I would like to know their thought.

Great. I think they would find it interesting.

Yeah - he also said that silver prices were going to "break free" in the last week of May, 2017. DIDN'T HAPPEN.

@bi5h0p -silver will remain suppressed as long as J.P morgan keeps those huge short contracts. Think we still have a bit more to go.

Very true. I think Cliff has been right on some instances. But, I totally DISAGREE with him about Steemit. Steemit has a very large following and think it will have much success. He probably didn't like it because he would actually have to work to get STEEM. Thanks for the post.

It seems that if it has "long legs" as he says (meaning he can see mention of it going forward with his predictive linguistic analysis), it has to have value. Reward for production and curation of content is the basis of Steemit. Along with the decentralization and lack of censorship, it is what separates it from other social media platforms.
Without that reward, with coins of value, it would be minimally different from the other platforms, and would not survive. Just my thoughts. Clif High is much more intelligent than I am, but I'm not sure if he continued his logic out far enough.

I fully agree, and am following.

Hmmm.... I like Cliff and LOVE Greg Hunter! However, Cliff can't always be right and I think this time he is off the mark. Thanks for posting, hadn't seen this one yet. I'm on Steemit more now and it takes me away from my YouTube subscriptions! BTW, I love what how you describe yourself so I followed you!

Thanks. I am following you now too.

Thanks! Can always use more followers! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81