Clay Art Contest #9-Something that reminds you of school

Here is my entry for this week, sliding into the deadline, the theme was something that reminds you of school and the first thing that always takes me back is stationary. Even the smell of school supplies as funny as that is can bring me back to my pencil case toting days. The big blue pencil is reminiscent of elementary school, it's bigger for little hands to better grasp while learning to write, along side that was the lined paper where at first, the lines were to help you keep your letters straight and spaced correctly but as time passes that paper becomes a way to write down your thoughts, compose essays and maybe even the odd note slipped under a desk to a friend...shhh ;)

Books of course as school for me meant studying and absorbing all of the knowledge that rapidly comes your way and that includes a lot of reading.

The apple is a symbol I also associate with school because it symbolizes a gift to the teacher. Although it is a very old tradition and apples are not often actually left on the teacher's desks anymore, The apple still remains an icon for teacher appreciation gifts, the important word in that being appreciation as teachers are so influential in our lives as we grow and learn and they deserve to be acknowledged and appreciated for sure. I will never forget the impact a few of my teachers had on me, changing my life for the better and I will always be grateful.

The 'Pink Pearl' eraser was one of the most popular brands of erasers for their trademark colour and distinctive shape and smell. Containing volcanic ash and pumice from Italy, they had an abrasive quality yet were soft textured and smudge proof. The history of the Pink Pearl eraser dates back many years and clearly was not lost on my generation as it stands out for me as a stationary 'staple'.

Once again thank you @josejirafa for hosting :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @purplemagic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @purplemagic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52