Ceramic vases

in #clay6 years ago

Here are a couple of vases I made this past summer. I threw the vase then created a mold. This vase mold is a great piece, because I can use it to make different size pieces. Depending on how much I fill the mold with slip I have successfully made bowls, vases, small colanders...it's very versatile.

I love this, and can't wait to make more. Here are two of my favorites.

20170102_121648.jpg

As always, check my art out on my Instagram...

https://www.instagram.com/official_dwr/

20170102_121304.jpg

Go Upvote some of My Other Posts

https://steemit.com/art/@official.dwr/stone-cold-cartman
https://steemit.com/podcast/@official.dwr/divorced-from-reality-podcast-episode-37-press-pass
https://steemit.com/news/@official.dwr/voice-of-ocala-podcast-episode-for-8-2-18

Sort:  

Hi there. I came across your post through @tcpolymath who featured it here: Pay it forward curation contest.

Beautiful vases! What sizes are these? Like how tall and what is the diameter of the rim? For some reasons, I like vases even when I run out of place to put them on. I have the excess vases stocked somewhere. Once I had a vase that is about 3 feet tall which I brought to work to beautify my office. I had to give it to one of my colleagues when I changed job.

I would second @pifc's comment about putting more details on your post. That will really help trigger interest of your readers and viewers. You can tell us the process of making vases and post more photos of the clay then how it slowly became the vase.

Keep molding and blogging!

Thanks for the compliment. Also, thanks for the suggestion regarding a more in depth article. I totally agree.
These vases are small actually. They go from 4 inches deep to about 9 depending on how I pour the mold. The original was 12-ish inches. The mouth also depends on where I pour to. These two are between 3 and 1/2 and 4 inches.
Once again thanks for the comments.

You're welcome. I look forward to more detailed articles. I may learn from your posts and want to try making vases, who knows... 😊

Thanks for featuring my post.

Those pieces are good. Never had luck with the wheel...to much tension in my body per the instructor. That and a serious lack of patience.

Jumped over and bumped your other posts that haven't paid out to 3c so you get earnings on them also. Might suggest that you add in some progression as that is always fun to see. Know with pottery it's hard, but maybe the clay and wheel, the piece before it's fired, and after. Not sure what's best, but play with it. More details you give the better chance of getting higher rewards.

I appreciate the compliments, and suggestions. I've been trying to work on variety and building up my articles. I will add more detail, and in depth looks into my process.
Also thanks for the upvotes. They are greatly appreciated.

Helping others out is what pifc is all about. The idea is Give and then Receive. I know that more people that we can help grow on steemit that down the road they will help support pifc and it will then be able to help even more people.

I love this! So simple, but so elegantly beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

I found you from @tcpolymath's Pay it forward curation contest entry

Thanks for finding my post. Check out more of my art throughout the blog. I look forward to checking out your profile.

well.. well... do you want to threw my old vase and then make a new one for me? what an interesting idea. anyway @official.dwr, what's the special mold u mentioned above? do you have a photo of the previous vase that you threw? I like the first vase.. the colour is stunning... perhaps, next time you create another pieces, you'll show us the step by step process too.. Thank you and Have a nice weekend!

Thank you for the compliments...the mold isnt necessarily special, its just self made. I made the original vase then created a slip mold out of plaster that could be used to repetitively make the same or similar shape and form.
I cant make any more right now unfortunately because I'm out of the studio for this semester. And wont be back for a few months.

Sounds like the mold is paying off and saving a lot of time.

I found your post because @tcpolymath featured you in this weeks Pay it forward curation contest.

Thanks for checking my stuff out. Please check out some of my other posts. I like to rotate different pieces from all of my art. I'm definitely going to follow up and check out your profile.

Both of these vases turned out really well; I love the color and the glaze on them as too! I tried doing pottery once and let me just say that it looked nothing like this haha

I found your post because @tcpolymath featured you in his Pay it Forward contest entry! Please feel free to join us next week with an entry of your own :)

Hi @official.dwr as you know @tcpolymath featured you in @pifc contest for wk 19.

Very nice pieces. I miss working with clay. I may not have been very good, but I had a lot of fun. It can be so expressive. Keep up the great work!!

Hello @official.dwr its great finding such an artist through @pifc contest where you have been featured by @tcpolymath, its an great initiative to feature bloggers. You also invited to keep moving the rail.

it would be great to know the step by step process.

Thanks for the compliment and the upvote. I am working on changing some of the way i post. More details is a definite suggestion I will take seriously.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47