You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Interesting and Weird Facts About... Johann Sebastian Bach, AKA 'The Old Wig' (According to his son...)

in #classical-music6 years ago

This is great! Someday I hope to learn the coffee cantata ☕️

I wrote a blog last year after singing in Bach’s B minor mass. Here’s the link if you want to check it out! You’ll have to scroll a little.

http://sopranicipriani.com/blog/

Sort:  

It probably would be a fun performance :)

I read your post on 'The Perfect American' opera, it was interesting! Though fictional, it makes you wonder what really went on in Walt Disney's mind, to make such fictional characters :) And on Bach's mass, it's something to read about it from the perspective of a performer/singer. (^ω^)

I’m happy to hear you read both! You can listen to the Madrid production of The Perfect American on YouTube. It is a bit more tonal for Glass which is nice, but I really love the chorus parts the most.

I really should write another blog soon. I just performed Verdi’s Requiem and that was an amazing experience. That would be fun to write a little something on.

Oh, I think I've heard that on Youtube. Our music history teacher made us listen to different versions of it, from the Gregorian chant up to the contemporary version of it (which sounded like something that came out from a movie soundtrack!).

Each version had their own interpretation of it, but how did you find Verdi's? As a person who performed it, it must have been something :)

I really loved singing in it. It was a beautiful experience and the church we sang it really let it ring out. It was hard work, but it paid off.

If I remember correctly, Verdi's Requiem was pretty difficult. With church acoustics (especially those really good ones), the sound must have been brilliant!
Even though I haven't heard the performance I'll just say it, Good Job! (^^)b

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55