You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking a Step into the World of Baroque Music: An informal analysis of “Surely He hath borne our griefs” chorus from Handel’s Messiah

in #classical-music6 years ago

I have not yet taken an indepth studies of the baroque era, I was more fascinated with the renaissance and the simplicity, improvisation and texture of the classical period. Not until now Joseph Haydn had always been my best across all eras, but after going through this article, I am now challenged to conduct an indepth study of all the musical eras. You just made me love Handel. Thank you so much.

Sort:  

I'm glad it made you have interest in the Baroque period. For me, Handel is an interesting composer who managed to create a beautiful oratorio that's not in his original language (he was German after all). He's an interesting character.

To be honest, of all the musical epochs my favorite in the Romantic, because it's there where musicians began to have their independence from their patrons plus the historical happenings at that time were really exciting. But each musical period has its own charm and allure, its own stories and compositions.

The differences of each period from one to another makes them all really interesting and unique!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32