Kaylee and Beethoven

in #classical-music6 years ago (edited)

kayleefrye.jpg

I loved the Firefly TV series (well, only one series), and to this day I still recommend it to people. It also has one of my all time favourite characters in it (well, I like all of them). Kaylee Frye is the ship's engineer/mechanic and her sense of optimism and constant cheeriness is just what I find endearing about her character.

So, imagine my surprise when at the end of the episode "Shindig, she is listening to one of my all time favourite Beethoven string quartets. Not only that, it is my favourite movement from one of my favourite string quartets! It is the "Alla danza tedesca" from the Opus 130 String Quartet by Beethoven. Below is a YouTube link of the Emerson Quartet playing it.

To be honest they aren't my favourite quartet, the Takacs String quartet are the best! Unfortunately, there wasn't a YouTube link of them doing that movement, but if you are interested, they are on Spotify. The 2nd violinist and the cellist are great! They were also one of my biggest inspirations for going into a career of music, so I love them!

Anyway, enough about talking about men in tails playing string quartets. This is how you really dress up!

fireflyshindig.png

DQmXDFhqQrKJrKavGxmhTuLaF2iR3JkZKJzPPj4vFK6Pkvu_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Nathan Fillion is one of my all time favorite actors, but I have never seen Firefly, because frankly, I am worried about getting hooked on a one season thing.

Just do it! And take take pleasure in the fact that it didn't go on for so long that it got bad!

Great show! It was cancelled much too soon. There was a lot more they could have done with the show. Oh, well. It was fun while it lasted. :)

Yes it was, but better this than the long slow death of a series that has outstayed its welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52