Native Land - #cityscapephotography

in #cityscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Okey, guys, now it's time to show you a place where I was born and raised. Unfortunately, I don't have a lot of #cityscapephotography of my native City, but at least some of them would be interesting to share.

I was born in Chelyabinsk, which is technically located in the middle part of Russia - exact on the border between Europe and Asia. It's super industrial City, so air is polluted, water is not suitable for swimming even at hot summer time. Chelyabinsk itself is therefore also known as "The Gateway to Siberia".

IMG-7410.jpg

Chelyabinsk is kinda busy City and more than mln people live there.

IMG-7412.JPG

Probably not a lot of things to share about the City, but one interesting fact, which I really want to mention is that a superbolide meteor descended at over 55,000 kilometers per hour (34,000 mph) over the Ural Mountains, exploding at an altitude of 25–30 kilometers (16–19 mi) at February 15, 2013.

And I was at that moment in the city.

So we had a working stand up follow up meeting with my team at that moment (it happened early morning). The meteor created a momentary flash as bright as the sun and generated a shock wave that injured over a thousand people. Fragments fell in and around Chelyabinsk. The power of the explosion was about 500 kilotons of TNT (about 1.8 PJ), which is 20–30 times more energy than was released from the atomic bomb exploded in Hiroshima. Luckily, thanks to the high altitude of the explosion the city managed to avoid large casualties and destruction.

Going through my memories, I just saw a light bright flash coming from the window and then the loud sound like something was exploded. It was super scary and some people in our room started to cry. I am not kidding. I tried to give a call to police local station checking out what was going on, but the line didn't respond. I was 100% sure at that moment that it was the atom bomb explosion because how we were taught at school, you would see the bright light first and you would feel the shock wave after. I was just guessing how far from our place it had happened. Thanks, God that my guessing was wrong. Long story short (you know the right answer already) - it was a huge cosmic meteor flying over the Chelyabinsk. Nobody died, but a lot of people got injures from broken window glasses and the shock wave.

At the end I wanna post some pics of Chelyabinsk at winters. Winters are usually strong. When I am thinking about it, I am falling in love with Vancouver more and more =)

IMG-5798.JPG

IMG-5797.JPG

Unfortunately, the phone's camera can't catch all these snowy moments properly, but anyways... be thankful for warm winters, guys!

IMG-5799.JPG

@cleverbot, @automation & @banjo steem up, please! are you thankful for warm winters guys?

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-19T02:38:48
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 377.00/200.00
Total Photos: 58
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What do you write about?

fake atom bomb explosion

Even when you savage son will do that in order to higher purpose?

This post has received a $46.67 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @kuklamasha.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

Awesome photography .... wait... all that snow ?

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeap! snow is all over the everything. 9 months in the raw. ok, kidding, only 7!

Have to live in the Bahamas then...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting to hear about your hometown. Great story about meteor. Thats the kind of end of days thing that really is unusual. Never know how people will react until you experience it. My wife grew up in Minnesota. After living in California for 15 years, we will not be moving back anywhere with a cold winter :)

thanks for the comment! yeah, totally agree, now even winter in Vancouver is not warm enough for me =) looking for the new place to reside

А где же стол? Закуски?

ну так... значит надо развить тему :)

буду работать над этим!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82