Giants in the Sky

in #cityscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Testing out my new Sony 16-35mm F2.8! I love this lens! So different than the rest of my arsenal. Don't get me wrong, I'll roll with my 35mm F1.4 any day, but sometimes I need that wide. And before I was using my Rokinon 14mm. That lens is beautiful for stars, but recently I was doing some night architecture and many of my photos came out with bad focus. This 16-35mm makes it easier to get what you want.

Here are some photos from the top of the former AT&T building in Downtown Los Angeles, CA. It's now the USC building. I tried some photos through the glass and then I found a door that happened to be open to the roof so, naturally I took the opportunity to sneak onto the roof until the security detail came over and asked me to go back inside. I was in the middle of a time lapse on my phone that had to be cut short, buuuut I got what I wanted already with my camera. ;)

What I've noticed with editing cityscapes is that I don't want to edit much past a clarity bump and brightening up the highlights. And with this lens the sky does need more than average dust spot cleanup, but other than that it's difficult to change history. Hah. I still go into it thinking I'll make something cool, and then I realize these are not the photos to play with.

DSC00774.jpg

DSC00773.jpg

DSC00776.jpg

DSC00783.jpg

DSC00786.jpg

DSC00798.jpg

DSC00816.jpg

DSC00804.jpg

DSC00823.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 22:44:44
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1534.31/1600.00
Total Photos: 76
Total comments: 141
Total contest wins: 22
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=alevaskye
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=giants-in-the-sky


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The 7th photo is giving me the hibby jibbies...
:)

Such a great shot of concrete jungle. Love LA :)

My favorite lens!

If you've got dust spots, clean your sensor. The Sony's need to be cleaned often since the sensor is right there when you take your lens off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31