#1 cityimpressions - HAMBURG-pt.1

in #city8 years ago (edited)

Hi you. Yeah, you!
Thank you, for your attention.
Today, I present you my first post about -city impressions-.
I like to travel. Right, like almost everyone.
But here is how I see the world from my personal perspective.
Maybe still mainstream, but hey, I'm just a normal human being.

Well, Hamburg. Hamburg is the city I desire to live after my graduation.
(I really hate Hanover. You can speak well of it as much as you want. It's still ugly.)
Everyone, who is from Hamburg, told me that it is the moooost beautiful metropolis in Germany.
So I came here and it convinced me immediately.
I already visited the city several times but still, I don't get enough of it.
Most facades are made of bricks, which is common in the north of Germany. (for the architects)

I still have to explore lots of places in Hamburg. I want to see even more, more, more.
But for now, here they are - my most recent impressions:

no 1:
Water fontaine at the Alster, a 56km long river. Nice rainbow, huh? Please, close your eyes and make a wish. It is so nice to chill at the riverside with ice cream in your hand (if you are not overweighted :P) and look at that beautiful view. If you are exhausted from work or relationship problems, just go here and find your inner self again. Joke. Just calm down here.

no 2:
When you sit there and look around the river you see ... Ewww swans. I know, they seem pretty from far away. So I only show you their pretty part. But I give you an advice: if you see them from close up ... just don't look at them. Good to the animalslovers who will surely love the swans!

no 3:
I'm impressed by the grandiose presence of the town hall in Hamburg in its Neorenaissance Style. It is one of the most elegant town halls I saw so far in Germany. I had my friend @lisadang take a photo of me. I know it is egocentric but I just love to take photos infront of great architecture and interior - "Jessi was there!" Yes, I only show you little parts of the building. I even have a reason: You should go there yourself and experience the historical atmosphere. You can only feel architecture if you go there yourself. No picture can give you the real feeling that YOU have there. Maybe you'll find it ugly or you're uncomfortable. Shortly: Go there!

no 4:
Normally, I'm not a fan of mainstream coffee shops. Buuut.
It is NOT a normal starbucks coffee shop. Hamburgers call it "Elbphilharmonie-Kulturcafé".
2 times per month you can hear Jazz-music at its finest.
Here is a link with address and dates:
http://www.hh-tipps.de/Ausfluge---Veranstaltungen/Musik/Kulturcafe/kulturcafe.html

If you want to know more about Hamburg, also see my friend @lisadang 's latest post: about the best coffee shop in Hamburg.

Next Hamburg post will be about the still new quarter HafenCity being very interesting for architects and everyone who is interested in urban design/building. It will be a more architecture related post. Wohoo.

( I am writing this post in English because I'm sure all of you Germans already know these places ;). Next post is certainly in both English and German. )

Lots of love,

Jessica

instagram: j.lu.design

Sort:  

What a pretty looking city! I would love to see any of its parks.

In some of my next post, I will show you.

I've been in Hamburg about 20 years ago ) love it too
Still have a friend who is living there

Being born in and living my whole life in Hamburg, I really want to get out of here for several reasons, but your article made me appriciate my home town city a little more again.
The city itself I guess really is one of the most beautiful cities in Germany to visit, but for living.. I wish there was more to do, fun places and more friendly open-hearted people. Hamburg is very rainy and cold and so are the people.
But for tourists I guess lovely to visit. You should join our next Meetup:)

Yes, I really love Hamburg.
In Deutschland habe ich bisher zwar Städte gesehen, die auch schön sind, aber Hamburg bietet da als Großstadt von der Anzahl her umso mehr schöne Plätze.
So ist das wahrscheinlich in vielen norddeutschen Städten mit den Leuten. Ich finde das auch schade, dass es vor allem abends nicht mehr viel zu erleben gibt. Da sollte es echt mal Veränderung geben.
In anderen deutschen Bereichen scheint es anders zu sein. In Dresden zum Beispiel sind die Leute wirklich sehr offenherzig und freuen sich, wenn man sie anspricht. Als ich dort war, war auch auf den Straßen tagsüber und am Abend noch viel los. Allerdings hat man von der Stadt im Vergleich zu Hamburg schon sehr schnell das Meiste gesehen.
Ja, eine Freundin hat mir davon erzählt! Waren leider beide beschäftigt zu dem Zeitpunkt. Ich komme gerne nächstes Mal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45