A Day In The City / Bordeaux France

in #city6 years ago

Well here I am. Two flights and a train and over 24 hours of travel I have gone from one culture to another and when I say this I mean two very different cultures!
I am in Bordeaux and I plan to stay here for two months, to see my family and do some work between travel. I will actually be staying just out of Bordeaux in Libourne so there will be a post to come about that.

This post is going to be about the day I spent in the beautiful city of Bordeaux.

Bordeaux street art new.jpg

Unfortunatly when I arrived to France it was late March early April and the weather was still cold and rainy and as it happened the day I decided to go to Bordeaux this was also the case...

Mind you it did make for some good photos.

bordeaux storm new.jpg

Bordeaux river new.jpg

Even though it was raining there was still alot to see so dont let this deter you...
I trained into Bordeaux from Libourne so I had to make my way from the train station to central / downtown Bordeaux, this is a 15 - 20 min walk so if you are not keen on walking or in my case it is raining I would suggest getting an uber.

I first wandered through the busy shopping streets where you can find all the well known clothing shops aswell as some small unique ones, there are alot of resturants and pastry shops in this area so as with most places in France you will not go hungry...

Bordeaux water fountain.jpg

Above. The Girondins Monument

Even the car parks are picturesque. Below

Bordeaux Trees.jpg

When I visit a new city I never really research it too much, I like to wander and take pictures and kind of find my own way through it. I think this is a cool way to explore because you are not just trying to get to each destination you are actually exploring on the way and this opens opportunity to see different things.

My three top picks of the places I visited are the St Andre Cathedral, Girondins Monument and the Jardin Public.

Bordeaux Cathdral.jpg

I think this is a great city to visit and you will possibly only need 2 days here to fully explore. You also have Libourne close by and the popular wine town Saint Emillion, which are both within an hour of Bordeaux.

Bordeaux City.jpg

Bordeaux park-1.jpg

Bordeaux bird.jpg

If you have made it this far then many thanks and I hope you have enjoyed this post. If this or any other of my posts have inspired you to travel or to visit these places then all I can say is DO IT and dont look back! All of my content is taken, edited and written by myself.

Enjoy
@jaerenclaus

Sort:  

Nice Post and Pics Jaeren ..Really enjoyed it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93