Circus City USA

in #circus8 years ago

Just a few miles away is a small town in southeastern Oklahoma nicknamed Circus City, USA because two of the most well-known circuses had their start in this community: Kelly-Miller, and Carson and Barnes. Nearby is Mt. Olivet Cemetery, where the following photos were taken:

 

But Kelly-Miller and Carson and Barnes entertainers aren't the only famous people buried here.  Three world champion rodeo cowboys, the original Marlboro Man, and the Buster Brown midget also have monuments in this cemetery.  "Daddy" Whatley, the R.C.A. All Around Cowboy of 1947, and the Bull Riding Champ of 1953,  the legendary Freckles Brown, who rode "Tornado, The Unrideable Bull," in 1967 in Oklahoma City, and Lane Frost, the 1987 World Bull Riding Champ will always be remembered by the people of this area, and by fans everywhere.  


Sort:  

This is a very original post!
Cool content, and a great way to show respect for those who loved their circus work.
Lane Frost was my hero. It was a sad day when he died. Being from Idaho I have had tons of fun at the Pocatello rodeo, and our own West Jefferson High School rodeo.
I kinda miss those days!
:D

Wow! We live near where Lane was born and raised---nice to talk to someone who actually knows who Lane Frost was. He died much too young.
It's probably just me, but walking through a cemetery allows me to reflect on deep questions. Why is life so short? Why do people have to die at all? When I see a gravestone for someone who died in 1799, I always wonder, what was their life like? I'm strange that way, lol.
Mt. Olivet is one of the best kept cemeteries I've been in. The grounds are manicured beautifully. I don't consider it creepy at all to meditate in a cemetery. Of course, I would only do it in broad daylight. Midnight might be a whole different feeling.
Thanks for your nice compliments on the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76