You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Catch A Whale - What do they think about all this “Whale” talk, and how do we get their attention?

in #circlejerk8 years ago

This is a great post to bring everyone down to reality. I will admit when my hubby told me about Steemit and I first looked into it I just about pee'd my pants with excitement. Then my hubby brought me be back down to earth and made me realize that not everyone or every post will be sitting in the thousands from the "trending" page you first see when you come to steemit.

Yesterday I posted my very first post with a short introduction written in story format to begin a series of stories about who I am and what I have become ... you can check it out here if anyone is interested My Intro / Story

As I sat there spending well over 4 hours writing it ( yes I know its crazy amount of time for what it actually ended up being ) I accepted the fact it wasn't probably going to be one of those home run or lottery type posts. But I was extremely OK with that. I personally want to write quality content to share with those who enjoy what I have. If I make a few bucks that is awesome! ( I made about $25 .. which is going straight into steem!) I find this to be humbling, amazing and exciting. I spent many hours on other sites like Facebook only to watch Mr. Mark Zuckerberg become a billionaire off everyone elses content. So what has been created here for us, especially content creators is freakin amazing.

In the end, some people will be envious, jealous and think they are "owed" a jackpot. In reality just do what you like to do and accept what "value" you are given by your upvotes and from there improve, but stay true to yourself in the process.

Sort:  

That's exactly how people should view steemit. :) Just upvoted..

I like this, and I'll also add that you mustn't throw content out there and hope something sticks, but also comment and interact with people - like what you're doing now! That's how people get to know your 'face', as it were.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56