You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Catch A Whale - What do they think about all this “Whale” talk, and how do we get their attention?

in #circlejerk8 years ago (edited)

I totally understand why people want to figure out what content gets upvoted and write to that. We need to eat! That's what's done 'out there' on blogs everywhere, but the audience is usually much bigger.

It's not all about artsy fartsy express yourself stuff, it comes down to a bottom line sometimes - can I earn a living through this platform? If yes, I will do what I need to do. I understand it. But I think a balance is needed and I want to see people who are just doing their own thing get rewarded consistently.

Best thing to do is to network (its a social network after all) and find your people, and write to them.

Sort:  

I bet more people fail posting content they have no passion for because they think it is going to get them more UpVotes.

"Best thing to do is to network (its a social network after all) and find your people, and write to them."

This is kind of contradictory to this:
"I totally understand why people want to figure out what content gets upvoted and write to that. We need to eat! That's what's done 'out there' on blogs everywhere, but the audience is usually much bigger."

People should get jobs/work if they want to have a stable income. If you don't already have a good stock of steempower, there's almost no chance of you making a living off it without catching the attention of some larger power holders. This is essentially stating that you understand why people are fake and it's ok. Where I am under the opinion that anyone doing this is just trying to be lazy in life and get free money form posting, and while it may work for 1% of us, the rest will sit not making much(definitely not a living).

I feel like a better way to use/look at this site is building up your content/audience in the beginning and just keep at it, but too many people expect to actually make a living off of this. Which will, again, work for about 1% of users.(maybe less depending on how big steemit gets/how fast it expands.)

It is kind of obnoxious to hear all these users complaining about how their content is "GREAT!" but gets no attention. Or things like, "Why don't whales like my posts." Most of the times I go through content of these users, it is just straight crap desperately trying to catch the attention of said "whales." But 90% of the "great/interesting content" I have gone through of people making these claims is/has been worthless and totally makes sense that it is not getting anywhere.

Thanks for the feedback.

Some people are freelance writers or journalists or artists, so a platform like this is a great opportunity to earn a living because it's a smaller pool than 'out there', and all I'm saying is that I understand why a person would want to just do it to make money, because that's why we work most of the time.. just to make money.

I don't mind if a person is on Steemit to make as much money as they can and don't really care about the longevity for anybody else, that's their prerogative. For my, I'd like to see more people succeed, which means Steemit needs to succeed. You see? There I go with the 'succeed' talk again, because again — it's a way to either make a living, or supplement your income. It's not the best medium for getting exposure, or sharing opinions, it's not the best editor, it's not the best for displaying images.

When my friend writes a puff piece article for some restaurant that she didn't love, and gets paid — is that being fake? Maybe. But she's working.

So I understand it, that's all.

I don't think there's anything lazy about, say @tuck-fheman, who is the most active human on Steemit! He does reasonably well for himself, and he works hard. It's work.

Nothing wrong with trying to supplement your income, in my opinion, but the platform can be different things for different people.

I have seem a lot of shitposting, but I have also seen a lot of amazing things posted by very interesting people that aren't getting any traction, and I try to highlight those when I can with the limited platform that I have. I'm not a whale, I guess I'm a dolphin, and the more of us in the middle class there are, the better.

"For my, I'd like to see more people succeed, which means Steemit needs to succeed. You see? There I go with the 'succeed' talk again, because again — it's a way to either make a living, or supplement your income"

This is a great way to voice your opinion. And I am not saying that this isn't a place where you CAN make a living. Just that it is irresponsible for most to rely on it for income, especially with shit posts. And it is a little bit annoying to hear all these people complaining about not getting attention from "whales", when you know they should because their content is exactly what the whales are looking for(or at least that what the assumption is by all these posters claiming quality posts that lack impressions.

Here's a thought, if you are the only person who is stating your posts are great or interesting, there may be a chance they're not, or that other people aren't interested in the same things as you.(not speaking to you personally, just the in general "you". I don't mean to come off abrasive).

It's blogging, it should be about you and your passions. Selling something you are not passionate about, unless you are a natural salesman, is fairly difficult.

I think it depends on your reason for blogging, because blogging is also a job. But yes, I agree that if you're not good at sales and marketing it is fairly difficult to succeed in that business.

Yes exactly, you have a better chance of selling things you are passionate about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50